• Can I Give My Husband Back?

  • By: Kristen Bailey
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (79 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It’s normal to prefer getting a filling at the dentist’s to spending time with your husband, right? 

I thought I was sorted on the life front. I was a heart surgeon with a loving partner and two gorgeous little girls. Except my husband’s version of "loving" is lying, cheating, and sleeping his way around London. Which means I definitely deserve a refund. 

Unfortunately, moving on isn’t that simple. Just because I know how to operate on a heart doesn’t mean I know how to fix my broken one. Plus, I lost the receipt for him years ago, so I’m definitely getting shortchanged. 

But now that I’m single, am I ready to mingle? There are a few minor issues: 

  1. The last time I went on a date, double denim was in fashion and my eyebrows were horrendously overplucked. 
  2. Men wear stupidly skinny jeans now. 
  3. I don’t know how to use dating apps, but at least I don’t have to get changed out of my pajamas. 
  4. Sometimes the most promising thing you have in common with a guy is a shared love of prawns. 
  5. I don’t know whether to open a date with "hi" or "hello" or "hey". and once I ended up saying "howdy". 

Everything happens for a reason, they say. There’s plenty more fish in the sea. But what happens when everything falls apart and you haven’t got a clue how to go fishing? 

An absolutely hilarious and utterly relatable tale for anyone who has ever survived a nightmare relationship, felt a little lonely, or nursed a broken heart with wine and carbs. This feel-good novel will get you back on your feet and genuinely laughing out loud. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald, and Sophie Kinsella. 

©2020 Kristen Bailey (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Can I Give My Husband Back?

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Great book. Loved the story line and character development. Emphasizing the bonds of the family you have and the family you make. A great story about starting over after divorce while keeping the kids interests as priority.
It is a shame the title doesn’t really do it justice. This is very similar to my favorite Sophie Kinsella books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LT
  • 05-15-22

A fun read!

While I really wasn’t sure if I’d like this book, but as someone who’s been divorced and can absolutely can relate to the title, I’m glad I finished it. Divorce is hard and it was refreshing to hear someone talk about it, laugh about it, and embrace all of the nuances that come with new family dynamics. Well done. 👏🏽👏🏽

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Parts are laugh out loud funny

I laughed quite a lot. The story was entertaining. Easy listen. Good characters and many interesting smaller stories alongside main.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable story but..

I enjoyed listening to the story and it was nice to hear about Meg after having read the other book. However I really did not like the performance. It was better in the end, maybe because you get use to it. But the men voices were not pleasant. I enjoyed the sisterhood.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this is a hysterical and honest look at divorce wi

loved the story but wish there was a male narrator for the men's voices. highly recommend.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carly munroe
  • carly munroe
  • 06-12-21

Loved it! It’s LOL funny

Loved this book! So relatable, had me laughing out loud a lot! I will look forward to listening to more from this author & the narrator was fab! Highly recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sylvia cooper
  • Sylvia cooper
  • 08-28-21

Loved it

I don’t know how many 92 years old have enjoyed this book like l have couldn’t put it down

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sair0075
  • Sair0075
  • 06-29-21

Genuinely laugh out loud

Absolutely hilarious and brilliant. I can't quite believe how the author came up with a character like Simon but I hold my hands up to her - WOW! The biggest arsehole you can imagine then triple it. But he does centre around a lot of the comedy. Easygoing, heartfelt and full of charm. Does not disappoint.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-12-21

Funny, good distraction and excellent narration.

Karen Cass's narration is brilliant. she absolutely kills it. Story line is good too and funny.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS B. BESSANT
  • MRS B. BESSANT
  • 06-25-22

fantastic

loved it!! the way the books all go hand in hand is fantastic. can't wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kayleigh
  • Kayleigh
  • 04-27-22

So so funny

Laugh out loud funny, few good twists and turns and I didn’t find it that predictable either which is rare with this saturated genre. Would listen too again!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-25-22

Great book

Great book. especially as I'm going through a divorce helped me relate very good

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for claire
  • claire
  • 04-12-22

Made me laugh out loud

What a fantastic feel good, laugh out loud story. Loved the characters and the story.
Great narration too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-05-22

Perfect

I loved every minute of it and love how the sisters come together from before.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hollie SB
  • Hollie SB
  • 10-29-21

Laugh out loud funny!

Great book, crazy story lines and extremely funny! Would definitely recommend this one. Thoroughly enjoyed :)

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SarahH
  • SarahH
  • 04-06-22

Brilliant!

I love this series, it’s so much fun! The sister in this book is Emma - brilliant, caring, steady Ems. Unfortunately for her, she was married to someone who couldn’t stop having affairs, but now she’s back on her feet and tackling the world again. From first dates, to the school gate Mums, to her ex still having affairs, and to generally dealing with her sisters, this book sees Emma getting back on her feet, with lots of laughs along the way!!

The narration was fantastic too. All round great book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra C
  • Sandra C
  • 07-01-20

Hysterical. Had me in stitches.

This was my first Kristin Bailey book and I think I have found my new favourite author. She has a wonderfully wry and dry wit that I appreciate on every level.
It's a story about the evolutionary process of divorce and Emma's growth and how she works through the various stages of loss towards acceptance with the help of her excessively supportive sisters.
I adore the bond and the hilarious interactions between the sisters - particularly Lucy who could be my spirit animal. Emma's dry and frank observations have a tendency to come out of nowhere and make you laugh out loud, eg
"The pony has an excellent fringe".
Karen Cass delivered an exceptional performance.
Highly recommend this book!