• Catalyst Books 1-3: An Epic Fantasy Box Set

  • By: C.J. Aaron
  • Narrated by: Travis Baldree
  • Length: 36 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (94 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Get the Catalyst Books 1-3 Boxset, featuring the first three books in the best-selling epic fantasy series filled with unexpected heroes, dark magic, and nonstop adventure.

Cursed from birth. Forced into slavery. It's time to fight back.

The blood of the Ancients is the most coveted ingredient in all of Damaris. The fabled elixir made from it grants those who drink it life that extends far beyond natural means.

There is no higher honor in the kingdom then being granted the privilege of bidding for it. And the people found with the cursed blood? By law, they are the rightful property of the kingdom.

They are tributes.

As a boy, Ryl was sold by his family when he was discovered to have the coveted blood flowing through his veins. Broken, scared, and confused, he’s confined to an area known as the Stocks until he is ready for harvesting.

Ryl stumbles through a doomed life until the appearance of a mysterious stranger who exposes a buried version of the past that changes everything. That his blood may not be a curse but a blessing.

The fates of all the tributes hang in the balance.

Buy this special edition omnibus to experience a saga with something for every fan of epic fantasy. Suitable for all ages, it's perfect for fans of D. K. Holmberg, Will Wight, and K. F. Breene.

©2021 Aethon Books (P)2021 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Catalyst Books 1-3: An Epic Fantasy Box Set

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Al
  • 10-05-21

An Unusual Read

This book set is a slow starter, but just hang in there. Eventually it finishes painting just how bleak and difficult life is for Tributes, as it needs to cement that in before it moves on with the plot. Once that ball starts rolling, you’ll enjoy the slower pace and focused character development. It really promotes your investment, and so will mean much more when we come back to these folks. I enjoyed the slow progression myself, having an MC that wants to succeed, but being self-taught, simply doesn’t always know how to move forward. The book has some fascinating world-building in it also. In the end it was a story that made me think, and makes me look forward to the next book.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good series

another great series that I started, but they stopped making into audio books. I'm getting to the point of waiting for whole series before buying

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not good but not bad

the mc has no spine. he is powerful, but he is a weak pushover. tell me this, is you were sold into slavery, beaten regularly, forced to do hard labor and watch all this same stuff being done to people you love like a family, would ANYONE have any qualms about killing every last one of the cowards guarding you? NO. but the author decided to make the super ultra powerful MC a sniveling weakling. he spent the majority of the first two books injured, and being rescued by everyone around him. sorry for the rant but the whole weak/stupid/over burdened with morality main character thing is just so over played in almost every novel with a couple of exceptions I'm yet to find a smart capable badass character i really enjoy

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Full and slow starting

I’ll start with the positive. Travis Baldree is the narrator and he has the ability to make mediocre books good to decent and does an awesome job as usual.
3 hours into the story is about kids being taken from their homes. Beaten tortured and put into slave labor camps. It’s 3 hour of focusing on that before you’re told why. The powers and abilities in this fantasy world are boring and lackluster. The writer puts a lot of energy and details into abuse the children go through and very very very little to progress the actual story. Little to no action in the 1st book. I forced my way through that much I don’t see myself going further. Find something better to spend your hard earned credit on

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

overall pretty good!

the story was pretty A to B and the use of powers got a abit repetative to have spelled out everytime the main character tapped into his abilities but I liked it so far will be keeping an eye out for book 4.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

The Magic is perfect and the story hooks you. Brandon Sanderson and Will Wright quality. great book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

couldn’t get past an hour

It’s not terrible but it’s not good either.

Maybe if you’re looking for knock off, dollar store fantasy this is for you.

I’m rating this as 1* instead of being more generous because this is Amazon/Audible and most 5 star ratings should be 3/4 at best

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good books, worth the credit

Of course anything Travis Baldree reads is going to be good, let's just get that out there lol.
This isn't one of my favorites but it was a good listen, worth the credit, and it kept my attention.
I would listen to the next book in the series if it was available.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 07-19-22

Slow start

It’s a slow start of a story so it can feel easy to pause sporadically and not feel like you’re missing anything major but it is extremely well written and as the books progress the MC makes a very logical progression and does not seem as though he disconnects from the story. I’ll be continuing the series for sure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good storyline

Very good storyline, when book three finished all I could think of was, oh no, i have to have more!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matt de Freitas
  • Matt de Freitas
  • 05-29-22

Fantastic book

Excellent story and narration - can't wait for book 4 on this!! End of book 3 has left me wanting more

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scubadiversam
  • scubadiversam
  • 04-02-22

Fantastic after the initial start

Ok the start was a little bumpy, lots of back and forth with time jumping to get the plot set, but after that it’s a solid story and a really great listen.
I have only returned 2 books and have over 200 and this was nearly number 3 but stuck it out, once you get past the start of book one it is amazing, really really good, in fact up there with the best! Really do recommend! It’s worth the credit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 03-30-22

a roller coaster of a tale.

a story filled with highs and lows, including emotional moments to epic battles. Travis Baldree brings the skillfully written work of C.J. Aaron to life!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Deeley
  • Jennifer Deeley
  • 01-31-22

Great listen

Great story and excellent performance, really enjoyed all three books. Good value, three books for a one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Reid
  • S. Reid
  • 12-19-21

A close 4.5 stars

This was a Travis narration so I figured i couldn't go wrong and although Travis nails the narration ( no surprise there), the story really took quite a long while to get my proper interest.
Maybe the main character a tribute xxxx was just a hit lacking but I think this has more to do how the writer C.J. Aaron wrote the entire world building in such detail.
Suffice to say hang in there as it picks up around chapter 27 as the intrigue surrounding his new found knowledge and what lies ahead brings new life to the story. By the end I was fully engrossed and automatically reached for the search button to find my next hit.
This isn't a new story within fantasy but the world building and some clever edges to the story keeps this a keeper.
Now off to try and track out the release date of the next audio or failing that the book as I really want to find out what happens next.
I requested this audio and have decided to leave my thoughts for everyone to see.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexander James
  • Alexander James
  • 11-08-21

Incredible

The perfect adventure story, with hints of Star Wars and fable. Can’t wait for the rest of the saga to come to audible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Iain Campbell
  • Iain Campbell
  • 10-21-21

Thoroughly Enjoyable

A thoroughly enjoyable listen, well written and brilliantly performed. a must for any fan of the fantasy genre.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 10-19-21

“Chained to a destiny”

I wanted to like this book more than I did. I think I just found the pacing a little slow and it became more of a drama than an adventure. The first half of book 2 was great, but the rest felt a little repetitive in pushing home the unfairness of the divide which I absorbed pretty early on in the first book.
That as well as a few inconsistencies just meant it drew on too long for me unfortunately and I think I’d have enjoyed it much better if it had been condensed a little.
Great narration though with good voices and pacing and really helped bring the atmosphere through.
This is my honest opinion on a free review copy.