adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Morgan Jerkins makes her fiction debut with this electrifying novel, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates and Jacqueline Woodson, that brings to life one powerful and enigmatic family in a tale rife with secrets, betrayal, intrigue, and magic. 

Laila desperately wants to become a mother, but each of her previous pregnancies has ended in heartbreak. This time has to be different, so she turns to the Melancons, an old and powerful Harlem family known for their caul, a precious layer of skin that is the secret source of their healing power.

When a deal for Laila to acquire a piece of caul falls through, she is heartbroken, but when the child is stillborn, she is overcome with grief and rage. What she doesn’t know is that a baby will soon be delivered in her family - by her niece, Amara, an ambitious college student - and delivered to the Melancons to raise as one of their own. Hallow is special: She’s born with a caul, and their matriarch, Maman, predicts the girl will restore the family’s prosperity.

Growing up, Hallow feels that something in her life is not right. Did Josephine, the woman she calls mother, really bring her into the world? Why does her cousin Helena get to go to school and roam the streets of New York freely while she’s confined to the family’s decrepit brownstone?

As the Melancons’ thirst to maintain their status grows, Amara, now a successful lawyer running for district attorney, looks for a way to avenge her longstanding grudge against the family. When mother and daughter cross paths, Hallow will be forced to decide where she truly belongs. 

Engrossing, unique, and addicting, Caul Baby illuminates the search for familial connection, the enduring power of tradition, and the dark corners of the human heart.

©2021 Morgan Jerkins (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Caul Baby

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Is this real?

For me, the mark of a good story is if it has me wondering if what’s going on in it is real. That’s what first struck me about “Caul Baby,” it’s a work of fiction but it’s written like the circumstances were snatched right from real life. The other thing that marks this a good book for me is days after finishing it, my mind wandered back to what happened to the ladies as the book was ending and I wanted to go back and listen to that part again. Good job, Morgan Jerkins! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

This was one of my most anticipated books of 2021. At first glance I thought this would be in the same vein as Conjure Women, regarding the midwifery trade and the notion that those born en caul are regarded as highly prized.

This is more of a fantasy. As in they believe those born en caul have an ability to reproduce tissue and regenerate tissue.

The narrator was not the fluid sing song voice, but instead a real voice often placing the strong emphasis on the words, causing the cadence to be off.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deeply Rooted, Story of Family & Secrets: Growth & Reckoning

A really great story - timeless yet modern with history, HERstory, myth and legend.
Human nature is explored in a way that led me to deep introspection and new understandings. No two people or situations are alike, yet we all share and are connected and interconnected.

I found the denouement particularly successful.

I especially enjoyed it as I’d just finished Morgan Jenkins’s Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Sure About This One

There’s a lot of what I would call the Louisiana back story mixed in with a modern scenario. There are also a lot of unnecessary details not needed to make the story work. Most puzzling is the last chapter where it was said that no one knew what happened to Josephine followed by a detailed description of what happened to Josephine. Nevertheless the less, I wish Morgan a successful career and look forward to more of her work.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Caul Baby Reader Review

Book was an enjoyable read but a lot of holes in plot. It's worth reading.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love this story and reader

This story takes us on a journey and speaks to genetrication and Black women issues in a way that is fresh, innovative, and thought provoking. I felt compassion for every character and loved how the story intertwines themes and concepts of grief, loss, community, and survival. Great job!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally I know the power of the Caul

This book was very good it held my interest from beginning to the end. African American families talk about the caul all the time.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

I could close my eyes and be right there. The story was captivating and sometimes I was on the edge of my seat. I was anxious to know what was going to happen and wanted to fast forward to hear the ending. The reader did an amazing job at describing the various sceneries, using different voices to set the tone and mood. The reader was superb. I loved it and felt as if I had heard some of the inflections somewhere throughout my life. I would love to see this in a movie. Wonderfully suspenseful at times and entertaining. Thank you for such a great novel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

nice book

narration was great! Nice book but could have had more closure for all characters involved

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

jUST ok

This was supposed to be a good book, it was just OK. I don’t enjoy stories like this. Although there were parts that were interesting.



RECOMMENDATION: maybe