• Chaos Rising

  • An Edge of Collapse Prequel
  • By: Kyla Stone
  • Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
  • Length: 2 hrs and 11 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (328 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $6.95

Buy for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a heartbeat, everything grinds to a halt. On Christmas Eve, the lights go out. Vehicles stop working. Communications break down. Reclusive former soldier Liam Coleman doesn't want to be anywhere near bustling downtown Chicago the day before Christmas. But his twin brother and his pregnant sister-in-law need him. 

But mere minutes after leaving O'Hare, their car crashes, along with hundreds of other vehicles. When Liam's phone stops working, he begins to suspect something more sinister than a local power outage. But before he can react, the first plane falls from the sky.

When a super EMP takes down the nation's power grid, Liam knows it's time to bug out. He's prepared, but he never expected to be caught in the middle of Chicago as chaos erupts. With society collapsing before his very eyes, Liam will have to risk more than he ever thought possible to protect the ones he loves if it's not already too late.

Chaos Rising is a riveting post-apocalyptic EMP survival thriller set in the Edge of Collapse universe, a brand new series from best-selling author Kyla Stone. Perfect for fans of Jack Hunt, T.L. Payne, and Ryan Schow.

©2019 Kyla Stone (P)2019 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Chaos Rising

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    264
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    247
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    238
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It could be better

This story is good but what irritated me is that the author could have made 3 books into one instead of separating them. Your are spending way to many credits trying to complete the series.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

✫✫ 4 Stars ✫✫

This was a great start to the series. I wasn't sure if I wanted to buy all of the books so I just started with the prequel and when it finished I bought book 1 right away. I needed to know what was going to happen with next. This book is pretty dark and very sad but it's a PA so I expected that.

The narration was great, I enjoyed her narration. At first I thought it was odd to have a female narrator for a mostly male POV but she does a great job.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic and heart tugging intro

I suppose a lot of people start with book 1 in a series rather that 0.5 but I started with this one. It's a fantastic intro to a series I now look forward to reading. This prequel tugs at your heart and get's you emotionally invested in the character of Liam, who will be in book 1 according to the description, so I'm keen to see what happens with him in the first full instalment. The narrator is easy to listen to and doesn't jar you from the story itself, she's pleasant to hear and the story flows really well. I'm really happy with this listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is just the beginning!!!!

And so the saga continues. this is a thrilling read. I too am a fan on exploring how ordinary people cope in dire circumstances, when you're left with nothing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

one heck of a story

this book called my attention for the very start and held it throughout the story. it was well written and I think everyone should read this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A different opening than any other EMO series

Be ready for 16 chapters that will not let you go. Each one ends in a way that makes it impossible to set it down. Kyla Stone has created a masterpiece here, and Stacey Glemboski has done it perfect justice with her narration. It would be unthinkable to not follow these characters wherever they may go now. Don't miss it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good intro to a series

good intro to the series but far too short. very good backdrop for the start of the story kind of a foreshadowing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IT REALLY PULLS YOU IN!!!

this book is amazing for people who really love an apocalyptic book it really pulls you in and lets you feel what they are feeling and the suspense is spot on, cant wait to read the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast Paced, great story!

I couldn't stop listening! downloaded the next book already. The characters are great, and the writing paints an epic picture.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and narration

This author and narrator are new to me, and I am glad I found them. I'm no good at writing reviews so I'll just say I'm already into the next book and loving it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Caddick
  • J. Caddick
  • 01-31-21

Great series.

Having read the whole series (so far) and loved it I got to listen to this prequel as well. I love all of the Kyla Stones books I have read and you cant go wrong with anything narrated by Stacey Glemboski, so it was a win win.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberley
  • Kimberley
  • 10-27-20

Awesome introduction to the series!

Great job setting up this post-apocalypse series! I was grabbed from the beginning and needed to listen to the next one right away!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meshell
  • Meshell
  • 01-18-20

Loved it...I need more!

This is a great start to Kyla Stone’s new series. So easy to become immersed into the characters and the storyline. The pace and tension was just right and the narrator really brings the characters to life.

I am really looking forward to listening to the next instalment. It cannot be recorded soon enough.

1 person found this helpful