• Chaos Rising

  • An Edge of Collapse Prequel
  • By: Kyla Stone
  • Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
  • Length: 2 hrs and 11 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (358 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Chaos Rising  By  cover art

Chaos Rising

By: Kyla Stone
Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $6.95

Buy for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a heartbeat, everything grinds to a halt. On Christmas Eve, the lights go out. Vehicles stop working. Communications break down. Reclusive former soldier Liam Coleman doesn't want to be anywhere near bustling downtown Chicago the day before Christmas. But his twin brother and his pregnant sister-in-law need him. 

But mere minutes after leaving O'Hare, their car crashes, along with hundreds of other vehicles. When Liam's phone stops working, he begins to suspect something more sinister than a local power outage. But before he can react, the first plane falls from the sky.

When a super EMP takes down the nation's power grid, Liam knows it's time to bug out. He's prepared, but he never expected to be caught in the middle of Chicago as chaos erupts. With society collapsing before his very eyes, Liam will have to risk more than he ever thought possible to protect the ones he loves if it's not already too late.

Chaos Rising is a riveting post-apocalyptic EMP survival thriller set in the Edge of Collapse universe, a brand new series from best-selling author Kyla Stone. Perfect for fans of Jack Hunt, T.L. Payne, and Ryan Schow.

©2019 Kyla Stone (P)2019 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Chaos Rising

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    259
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It could be better

This story is good but what irritated me is that the author could have made 3 books into one instead of separating them. Your are spending way to many credits trying to complete the series.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

✫✫ 4 Stars ✫✫

This was a great start to the series. I wasn't sure if I wanted to buy all of the books so I just started with the prequel and when it finished I bought book 1 right away. I needed to know what was going to happen with next. This book is pretty dark and very sad but it's a PA so I expected that.

The narration was great, I enjoyed her narration. At first I thought it was odd to have a female narrator for a mostly male POV but she does a great job.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IT REALLY PULLS YOU IN!!!

this book is amazing for people who really love an apocalyptic book it really pulls you in and lets you feel what they are feeling and the suspense is spot on, cant wait to read the next book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart wrenching and amazing

This prequel gives backstory for the series. Parts are difficult to believe but that’s what fiction is. Well-written and interesting. I can’t wait to read the entire series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Breathtaking Experience

Kyla Stone once again leads us into the rarely mentioned, cobwebbed corners of human frailty, despair, and hope. Stone writes in a voice anyone can relate to. She expertly navigates a world brought to it's knees with the type of literary care and expertise of an author twice her age. I ALWAYS look forward to seeing the names Kyla Stone and Stacey Glemboski on an audiobook. The combination ensures that I'm in for a thrilling "Audio Treat!"

I fell in love with Stacey Glemboski's voice the moment I first heard her speak. Of course, it was a Kyla Stone audiobook I "took a chance on" a few years ago. It was the first of Stone's books I'd ever heard, and I was hooked from that very moment. Glemboski's love of a great story is clearly evident in the way she brings the characters so powerfully to life.

If you are looking for thrilling adventures, and maybe an escape from your troubles and woes, then you will not be disappointed with the worlds Stone has created. So, strap yourself in and prepare for a wild ride the moment you press play.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a great start to the series!!!

This is a great start to the series!!! I can’t wait to listen to the rest. Kyla Stone is a good writer. Stacey Glemboski is a good speaker.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just the beginning

A quick read. The saga begins. Many more tails to follow and worth your investment in time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DM
  • 07-13-22

Awesome Prequel

Very Awesome look into beginning of Liam’s journey. A little more emotionally driven than the edge of collapse series. Would recommend, although wish it was longer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic and heart tugging intro

I suppose a lot of people start with book 1 in a series rather that 0.5 but I started with this one. It's a fantastic intro to a series I now look forward to reading. This prequel tugs at your heart and get's you emotionally invested in the character of Liam, who will be in book 1 according to the description, so I'm keen to see what happens with him in the first full instalment. The narrator is easy to listen to and doesn't jar you from the story itself, she's pleasant to hear and the story flows really well. I'm really happy with this listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is just the beginning!!!!

And so the saga continues. this is a thrilling read. I too am a fan on exploring how ordinary people cope in dire circumstances, when you're left with nothing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Caddick
  • J. Caddick
  • 01-31-21

Great series.

Having read the whole series (so far) and loved it I got to listen to this prequel as well. I love all of the Kyla Stones books I have read and you cant go wrong with anything narrated by Stacey Glemboski, so it was a win win.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberley
  • Kimberley
  • 10-27-20

Awesome introduction to the series!

Great job setting up this post-apocalypse series! I was grabbed from the beginning and needed to listen to the next one right away!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meshell
  • Meshell
  • 01-18-20

Loved it...I need more!

This is a great start to Kyla Stone’s new series. So easy to become immersed into the characters and the storyline. The pace and tension was just right and the narrator really brings the characters to life.

I am really looking forward to listening to the next instalment. It cannot be recorded soon enough.

1 person found this helpful