• City of Flickering Light

  • By: Juliette Fay
  • Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
  • Length: 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (1,008 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
City of Flickering Light  By  cover art

City of Flickering Light

By: Juliette Fay
Narrated by: Lisa Flanagan
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.16

Buy for $18.16

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Juliette Fay - "one of the best authors of women's fiction" (Library Journal) - transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring 20s, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen - perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It's July 1921, "flickers" are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry. 

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth - iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating - and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn't come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her "trademark wit and grace" (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer's Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

©2019 Juliette Fay (P)2019 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about City of Flickering Light

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    631
  • 4 Stars
    270
  • 3 Stars
    88
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    671
  • 4 Stars
    199
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    570
  • 4 Stars
    258
  • 3 Stars
    86
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen!

I chose this book because I’d finished “The Tumbling Turner Sisters”, had enjoyed it, and so I thought I’d try another one by Juliette Fay. It was interesting and the characters were likeable! It wasn’t anything spectacular but it passed my time in an enjoyable and entertaining way! I loved that Gert Turner showed up as a character in this book & that the storyline with her and Tip (from The Tumbling Turner Sisters) was tied up in this book. If you’re looking for historical fiction about some great friendships, then this is one you’ll like!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Fair warning

One of the three main characters is involved in a homosexual relationship and it’s essentially the only reason his character exists. If you do not want to listen to such this is not your book. This, as a sequel, is a disappointment.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great characters!

A surprisingly lovely and fun read. The author clearly researched this era, and loosely based her characters on real- life legends (to which she attributes traits in epilogue Author’s Note). Perfect narration, restrained but animated. Five stars!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not Quite Sure

This book was and interesting read. The characters made you laugh, smile , cry and rejoice. But it feels like the ending was added years after the bulk of the book was completed. It didn’t leave you wanting more. It left you wondering why.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hollywood lights!

When this first started I was a bit skeptical but I stuck with it and I found it to be intriguing and interesting and the characters were well researched and the storyline was good and took enough twists and turns to keep you fully interested.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story!

I enjoyed the stories of these characters and loved to connection and continuation of another one of Fay’s characters from another book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A treasure

The City of Flickering Lights was a treasure trove of history, bringing to life the history of Hollywood and the challenges & joy of the people whom it’s shaping was built on. Such a pleasure to immerse myself in. Kudos to the author & narrator, appreciate you both!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Silent movie era comes to life

1920s story of Hollywood hopefuls, their struggles and triumphs in early Hollywood studios. Great carryover of characters from The Tumbling Turner Sisters by same author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • pv
  • 11-04-22

Wonderful!

I enjoyed it immensely it was interesting to hear about the era, the characters were well fleshed out and I enjoyed it immensely.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story

Very interesting, entertaining and well written. Narration was great. Loved all the historic details intertwined in the story.