• Cleopatra and Frankenstein

  • By: Coco Mellors
  • Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
  • Length: 14 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (105 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Cleopatra and Frankenstein  By  cover art

Cleopatra and Frankenstein

By: Coco Mellors
Narrated by: Kit Griffiths
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $36.43

Buy for $36.43

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Bloomsbury presents Cleopatra and Frankenstein by Coco Mellors, read by Kit Griffiths.

For fans of Modern Lovers and Conversations with Friends, an addictive, humorous and poignant debut novel about the shock waves caused by one couple’s impulsive marriage.

Twenty-four-year-old British painter Cleo has escaped from England to New York and is still finding her place in the sleepless city when, a few months before her student visa ends, she meets Frank. Twenty years older and a self-made success, Frank’s life is full of all the excesses Cleo’s lacks. He offers her the chance to be happy, the freedom to paint and the opportunity to apply for a green card. But their impulsive marriage irreversibly changes both their lives and the lives of those close to them, in ways they never could’ve predicted.

Each thoroughly enjoyable chapter explores the lives of Cleo, Frank and an unforgettable cast of their closest friends and family as they grow up and grow older. Whether it’s Cleo’s best friend struggling to embrace his gender queerness in the wake of Cleo’s marriage, or Frank’s financially dependent sister arranging sugar daddy dates to support herself after being cut off, or Cleo and Frank themselves as they discover the trials of marriage and mental illness, each character is as absorbing, and painfully relatable, as the last.

As hilarious as it is heart-breaking, entertaining as it is deeply moving, Cleopatra and Frankenstein marks the entry of a brilliant and bold new talent.

©2022 Coco Mellors (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"An irresistible un-put-downable page-turner of a novel. A love letter to New York, a love letter to love, Cleopatra and Frankenstein is a complex, funny, deeply felt, beautifully written debut." (Nathan Englander, author of What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank and Kadish.com)

"Mellors dissects the tumultuous relationship between two magnetic and damaged people...an enticing aura glows at this work’s heart." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Cleopatra and Frankenstein

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshing

Sometimes when reading or listening to stories about drugs & alcohol & mental health issues, they can be glorified or fantasized. I loved how the author made it real and just violent enough for recovery with a dash of hope. Hope is never gone and should never be lost.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing

one of my new favorite books. I finished and wanted to start all over again. beautiful writing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Favorite book of 2022 so far

The narration was phenomenal!


I loved this book. The type of book that I didn’t want to finish. The type of book I took my time with because I knew I would miss the characters. The highly relatable, highly dysfunctional, openly human characters.

This is a book about relating, in all aspects. A book about relationships and the secret innuendos, the nuances that come with relating - the secret lives, that two people live together when no one else is watching. The intimacies, the disappointments, the violences, the betrayals, the joint vices, the affections, the sex. The painful things we endure together, as units + the growth we endure. Painted with vivid imagery. Coco Mellors is an inspiration.

I held this book close to my heart. The act of relating is the most human thing we’ve got and so is making art about it, so this is quickly how I fell in love Cleopatra and Frankenstein

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

Beautiful story. The performance of the narrator was great as well. I didn’t even care that it was over 12 hours long.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

INCREDIBLE

Truly one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. I don’t know what else to say.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story, characters, and ending!

I knew I would like this book, and I ended up loving it. It’s funny, sad, sexy, and beautifully written. What else could you want in a book? It makes you laugh and think about being a human, with all our beautiful and ugly flaws. Can’t wait for another book by Coco!