• Condor

  • The Gabriel Wolfe Thrillers, Book 3
  • By: Andy Maslen
  • Narrated by: Anthony Howard
  • Length: 10 hrs and 54 mins
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Condor  By  cover art

Condor

By: Andy Maslen
Narrated by: Anthony Howard
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A suicide bomber boards a crowded bus in central London. Ex-SAS captain Gabriel Wolfe, now struggling with PTSD, is having a coffee just yards away. In the ensuing carnage, Gabriel is plunged into a bloody memory of his last, botched mission.

Plagued by visions of the dead comrade he left behind, Gabriel now freelances for The Department, a secret British Government hit squad. He wants to take out whoever ordered the attack.

Gabriel's desire for vengeance leads him to Eden, the Brazilian rainforest compound of a religious cult called The Children of Heaven. The cult's leader is "Père Christophe", a psychopath with a taste for fine wines, Mozart, and extreme violence.

But when Gabriel arrives, he is brainwashed, brutalized, and fitted for his own suicide vest. Then his real battle begins. To prevent more deaths...including his own.

This edge-of-your-seat action thriller is the third full-length outing for Andy Maslen's "hero among us", Gabriel Wolfe. Condor combines heart-stopping action with nightmarish scenes of psychological breakdown.

Fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, Vince Flynn, and Daniel Silva are already saluting Maslen as an author to watch. If you like your heroes flawed as well as resourceful, you'll love Gabriel Wolfe.

©2016 Sunfish Ltd (P)2017 Sunfish Ltd

What listeners say about Condor

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to listen to

First time I’ve given up on book so early in. The narrator is just too hard to listen to.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

very disappointed

the speech of the narrator was very muddled and difficult to understand. let me preface that I thoroughly enjoyed the previous books. this one was very unbelievable and as someone who has been to war many times, am growing very tired of the use of PTSD as a plot device in this series.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Trouble listening

Change in narrator made this a hard listen many times, with the combination of the narrators strong accent and at times sounding like he had a mouthful of tic-tac's, it just didn't flow at all like the previous 2 books. Won't follow this narrator

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Briony Healey
  • Briony Healey
  • 01-09-18

Mistake

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

Potentially people who are familiar with this new narrator

Would you ever listen to anything by Andy Maslen again?

Most definitely, just need to change the narrator

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Genuine disappointment, I was really looking forward to the next instalment but I couldn't connect with the 'wrong' voice of the protagonist.

Any additional comments?

Would re-buy if Gethyn Edwards was brought back

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andy
  • Andy
  • 10-03-17

Listened to only a few chapters!! Cannot go on

I was really looking forward to this book and downloaded it immediately after finishing the previous one. Bad idea. Narrator changed and I have tried and re tried to listen but cannot 'connect' to his accent, elocution or style. The narrator makes such a difference. Wasted credit, hey ho!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. J. Poole
  • Mr. J. Poole
  • 10-17-17

Disappointed

After reading a negative review about the change in narrator from the previous 2 books, I thought I’d make my own decision. I lasted about half way through chapter 1, sadly I have to agree that even though I loved the first two books, I just can’t engage with the performance, the diction is just sub par for this series of audio books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JohnT
  • JohnT
  • 09-11-22

Rubbish narrator

I gave up on this after 20 mins. Could not understand why a change in narrator was required first 2 books were excellent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian
  • Ian
  • 05-15-22

Brilliant!

I cannot state how much I enjoyed this book. It was amazing. Thank you.
The change of narrator was disconcerting at the start but was overcome by the story itself. I don't normally write reviews but had to say something about this book.
Better than Reacher in my opinion and that's saying something.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bernbut
  • Bernbut
  • 01-12-22

Why choose a narrator with a speech impediment?

I enjoyed the first 2 Gabriel Wolfe books and was looking forward to Condor. How disappointed to discover that the new narrator has a speech impediment and so every character speaks with a lisp. I tried to get on with it but found it too annoying, it affected my concentration. Such a pity, I now understand I have to skip to book 5. I feel awful criticising the narrator.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr A M Price
  • Mr A M Price
  • 09-13-21

best Gabriel wolfe story so far

they changed the narrator for this book. god knows why. the new chap has a speech impediment which really makes it hard to grasp the characters and is such a massive change from the 1st two books. I really struggled to start but if you can get past it, stick with it as I really enjoyed this particular story. my favourite so far. I have got used to the narrator too. I know he reads book 4 also which I'm about to start, but as of book 5 they revert back to the 1st and original narrator.

I really like the Gabriel Wolfe series and I'll continue to listen to all of them. This is a thumbs up from me

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for colum
  • colum
  • 08-19-21

Why change narrator when last one was good

Sure it's not his fault the narrator has a lisp! Makes it hard to hear the story. All I heal is the poor narration. I'm only a few minutes into the book and I'm tearing my hair out.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr N Mrs Guy
  • Mr N Mrs Guy
  • 05-15-21

narrated by ...OMG

such a such book ruined by the narrator.
waste of my money , I wish I had read the reviews beforehand.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ejfanjo
  • Ejfanjo
  • 11-22-20

Narrator!?

This is the third in the series that I have listened to in order. The story is good but a little too long maybe. Seemed to drag in places. Overall still a good yarn. But why, oh why, did they change the narrator?! This guy sounds like he has a speech impediment! And some of his pronunciation sounds like he’s never heard of the word. Definitely a backward move.