• Contagion

  • By: Erin Bowman
  • Narrated by: Amy McFadden
  • Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (192 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Contagion  By  cover art

Contagion

By: Erin Bowman
Narrated by: Amy McFadden
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.

After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.

When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project - including its members’ dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried - and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

©2018 Erin Bowman (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

“Gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures, Contagion is the perfect intersection of science fiction and horror - I couldn’t look away.” (Amie Kaufman, New York Times best-selling author of Illuminae and Unearthed)

“Few understand the true horror that lies in the empty unknown of space, but Erin Bowman nails it in Contagion. Read this one with the lights on!” (Beth Revis, New York Times best-selling author of the Across the Universe series and Star Wars: Rebel Rising)

“Erin Bowman’s Contagion is everything I want in my science fiction: a cast of smart characters on a desperate rescue mission forced to confront an elusive and unstoppable enemy. I absolutely loved this layered and thrilling adventure and can’t wait to dive back into this world again.” (Veronica Rossi, New York Times best-selling author of the Under the Never Sky series)

What listeners say about Contagion

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not What I Was Hoping For

Basically, I was expecting a more adult horror novel. Even though it wasn't labeled as YA, that was the vibe I got. Or, possibly it just wasn't as suspenseful as it should've been...

Also, the narration, while not the worst I've ever heard, by any means, was underwhelming, to say the least. Possibly, the book would've seemed more suspenseful with better narration. As it was, I found it a distraction the whole time I was listening.

I am conflicted. On the one hand, I want a refund for not being satisfied with the book... On the other hand, I also want to hear the rest of the story...

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes!

I wasn’t sure if I’d like this, sci-fi can be hit or miss for me. Plus contagions have been done before, but also hold the potential for lots of tension. Happily, Contagion was well written, engaging and performed well. The tension was good, the reveals were interesting (although I guessed a few) and the storyline had enough uniqueness to not feel like a retread of well worn ground. I listened to it in two days and now I’m sad it’s over. I’ll definitely be getting the next and I recommend this one!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good YA Focused - Big Cliffhanger

Better than average YA semi-Zombie tale. However, for the adult reader there is just too many plot holes. The main characters are as stupid as a box of rocks. They just don’t think things through. Too bad, because the book has a few interesting premises. Narration was good. Overall a C rating.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I shouldn’t hope everyone in the book dies…

…but here I am. The book could have been so good but I’m half way through and I’m already so frustrated with every character in the story I could care less if any of them die. They are all idiots and I can’t stand stories that can only progress through idiotic actions of the future victims.

I rated narration at 3 stars but she may very well be better with a better story so Amy may very well be a fine narrator.

Hey don’t take my word for it. Check the book out for yourself. Maybe you will like it but if not you can always return it.

I can tell you nothing really happens at all till almost 5 hours in. So maybe that will help. Up till then it’s just scene after scene of idiots talking.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More please.

I'm not gonna lie, I went through a quite a range of different emotions while listening. Mostly annoyance at a lot of their decisions. Still considering the different personalities and their given situation, it never felt implausible. I really enjoyed the experience and look forward to the next book.

As usual I have nothing much to say about the performance. Amy never disappoints. I'd say she's one of the best narrators on here which is saying a lot because there are quite a lot of talented individuals.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

No complaints about the story…but

1) They need to clearly label books as young adult.

2) They need to clearly label that this is book one of a series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Where is the story?

I have over 100 audiobooks. This one ranks as one of the worst. I couldn’t even finish it it was so boring, boring, boring. It seem like it was just recreational talking on and on and on. Voices of supposedly different people droning on talking about absolutely nothing. There was no suspense, no drama, no sci-fi, nothing to fear, actually there was no story at all. It seemed like it was just words put it into sentences that went nowhere. I wouldn’t recommend this book to anybody. Unless you’ve had a lobotomy Don’t and have nothing else to do don’t bother with this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

A pretty great sci-fi/horror novel. Absolutely loved the ending and excited to listen to Immunity!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

The story was full of twists and turns. Characters I thought would make it didn’t. Gave me the feels. Left me hanging. Looking forward to hearing the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

definitely something to listen too while working

Story overall was great, narration was great, overall I am happy with being able to listen in