• Corpse Road

  • A DCI Harry Grimm Novel
  • By: David J Gatward
  • Narrated by: Aubrey Parsons
  • Length: 7 hrs and 9 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (150 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To catch the hunter, become the prey. 

When the body of a female backpacker is found on the Yorkshire moors, the killer seems obvious, the motive clear. 

If only. 

Because Grimm and his team are up against not just a murderer, but a predator, and when the key suspect disappears, it’s only a matter of time before another body is found. 

To catch one of the most dangerous killers he has ever faced, and to have any chance of staying alive himself, Grimm will need to not only draw on his skills as a detective, but as a soldier, and to trust his team with his life as he goes to war once more. 

But at least he won’t have to eat cheese and cake. 

Hopefully....

Corpse Road is the third book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, , Adam Croft, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David Gatward (P)2021 David Gatward

What listeners say about Corpse Road

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Stories

I’ve read the first 3 Harry Grimm mysteries and enjoyed the characters. Someone complained about the narrator but I think he is great. Harry just wouldn’t be Harry without his voice. I love the author’s notes at the end. Really gives you an idea of why and how the location of the story plays a part.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gimme more

Love the humor this author gives his characters.
Gimme more and don't stop. Hurry I want more now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Corpse Road

I loved it!DCI Grimm is the best! The Corpse road is a road folks in the old days had to carry their dead up hill to the church for burial.A body has been found and it isn't a pretty sight. Aubrey Parsons was a fine narrator.I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good story in the series

This particular story is a little darker but it's still A good yarn. Some of the characters are further developed and I look forward to the development of some more of the minor characters. Definite for shadowing on what's to come. The audio performance was good but I just think it's very difficult to differentiate all the voices male female the different accents from the different parts of the United Kingdom. I'm glad I discovered this author and I think that place base series are well worth read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well done story

Be good to yourself, read this one next. Compelling mystery. Great characters, perfect reader.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling and chilling!

This is my favorite crime series and my favorite police procedural mystery series. This third book was extremely addictive, especially with Aubrey Parsons’s superb narration. The crimes were scary without being too graphic. My heart raced along with Harry’s at the remarkable climax. I also loved how a few chapters were told from the perspectives of a few more members of the police team. These characters are wonderful, and the writing is tense while still having friendly interactions. I can’t wait to listen to the next book. My one tiny complaint is that too many clues were given to the reader (not to the police) in the first two chapters, so I was able to figure out the killer’s identity way too early, but it was still fascinating seeing how Harry and his team figured it out. I loved every minute of this marvelous audiobook.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great

I am really loving this series. Harry Grimm and the characters have grown on me. Grimm is a great DCI and he cares about his people.
This mystery is a weird one. A camper is murdered near a road called Corpse Road, hence the title. A bit ominous, no?
Although I'm not sure about cake and cheese, I know I'll be continuing with the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy Wishart
  • Cindy Wishart
  • 04-12-21

Another great yarn from the Grimm series

Great narration, great story and I really like the author end notes once you reach the end of the book

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 03-20-21

Bloody brilliant

This is absolutely brilliant, right on topic currently too, incel alert, do not read/listen if you are a) an incel OR b) easily offended ...
this is Harry Grimm at his best (albeit a slow best) he could have been a bit quicker off the mark in my opinion, BUT, it's hilarious, it's entertaining and, at the end of the day, that's what's I'm paying for.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs
  • mrs
  • 05-27-21

Bit predictable

I guessed 'who dun it' fairly early on. I finished the book but not sure I would bother with this series again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 05-17-21

another great book, can't wait for the next book!

DCI Grimm is definitely growing on me, like the back drop of swaledale too. look forward to the next instalment

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-26-21

David J Gatward Grim

I have now read the set of Grim books. Have thoroughly enjoyed every story. Love all the characters. Comes alive as I know Swaledale so well. Aubrey Parsons is wonderful and brings the characters alive. Roll on the next book Janet, Kent

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 05-24-21

amazing book

anther amazing book
When the body of a female backpacker is found on the Yorkshire moors, the killer seems obvious, the motive clear.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 05-11-21

Wonderful

Harry Grimm is back. He's still in Wensleydale and the area is beginning to grow on him, though I'm not sure he'll ever eat cheese with his cake! In this book he is investigating the case of a woman who is found dead whilst camping near the old Corpse Road. The story is original and well written with plenty of twists and I love the dark humour which runs through it. The descriptions of the area (which I do know a little) make you want to be there, and the characters are all developing well. I loved the addition of Fly, the young sheepdog, in this book.

Excellent narration by Aubrey Parsons made this a great listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-02-22

Book3

Fantastic read her again. I had an idea who did it near end but it was still gripping due to the how. Looking forward to book 4.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-16-22

another good listen

love all these books narrating is excellent
must visit wensleydale for cake and cheese! yes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter akers  Once again a   first  class  thriller  well done  JR  Ellis
  • Peter akers Once again a first class thriller well done JR Ellis
  • 06-13-22

Absolutely brilliant thriller,first class!!!

Yet again a masterpiece of a thriller cannot wait for the next Harry Grimm is class act!!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for soo jay
  • soo jay
  • 11-17-21

Not a bad yarn, but a bit tame.

After giving up on the previous Harry Grimm story because the narrator's voice was so annoyingly strained, I was glad to hear him sounding a bit better this time around, though he still sounds like he needs to give his vocal cords a good long rest.

The Grimm series reads like it desperately wants to be made into a TV series, one of those innocuous 7.30 on a Sunday evening shows, full of bucolic scenery, plucky clean-cut young coppers, and farmyard animals. (Cue the arrival of a Border Collie pup in this story.)

This may have been the easiest "pick the bad guy" I have ever read so don't expect too much suspense.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 04-13-21

Swaledale

Makes me want to travel to swaledale but no flying out of Australia for a bit.
I really enjoy mr Gatward and love Aubrey Parsons as a narrator. More books please