• Crimson Lake

  • By: Candice Fox
  • Narrated by: Euan Morton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (925 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

*Winner of the Audie Award for Thriller/Suspense Audiobook*

"Narrator Euan Morton's gravelly voice and Australian accent embody Ted...His excellent pacing and gripping delivery maintain tension."—AudioFile Magazine

The basis for the series Troppo starring Thomas Jane, now streaming on Freevee!

How do you move on when the world won’t let you?

12:46: Claire Bingley stands alone at a bus stop

12:47: Ted Conkaffey parks his car beside her

12:52: The girl is missing . . .

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time—that’s all it took to ruin Sydney detective Ted Conkaffey’s life. Accused but not convicted of a brutal abduction, Ted is now a free man—and public enemy number one. Maintaining his innocence, he flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted’s lawyer introduces him to eccentric private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer, Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair's every move . . . and the town offers no place to hide.

"Complex, human characters, and a dark, meaty story, and fine writing, and a great sense of place–this is one of the best crime thrillers of the year. Sign me up as a big-time Fox fan!"—Lee Child

Crimson Lake by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly award-winning author Candice Fox is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for fans of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

©2016 Candice Fox (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Complex, human characters, and a dark, meaty story, and fine writing, and a great sense of place - this is one of the best crime thrillers of the year. Sign me up as a big-time Fox fan!" (Lee Child, best-selling author of the Jack Reacher series)

"Narrator Euan Morton's gravelly voice and Australian accent embody Ted.... His excellent pacing and gripping delivery maintain tension." (AudioFile)

More from the same

What listeners say about Crimson Lake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    513
  • 4 Stars
    285
  • 3 Stars
    97
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    578
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    486
  • 4 Stars
    245
  • 3 Stars
    75
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

tired of the F word

I'm really tired of the F word being used so much. It's not needed to be a good book. I'm returning what I think could have been a excellent book.

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a great find!

Completely different to your run of of mill mystery. The characters are well developed, believable.The setting is so real you feel as if u are there and the story is unexpected with twists and turns that surprise u. you won't be sorry if u buy this one!

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Mystery I've listened to since Tana French

I'm a big fan of the Tana French Dublin Murder Squad series. After listening to those, I got hooked and tried to find something similar without much success. This is the first mystery I've found that I enjoyed just as much.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hard to put down

Really enjoyed this book. Kept me curious and reading past my bedtime for 3 nites. Only problem is next installment to the story not available in US. at this time.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great characters, not predictable

I think one of my favorite parts about the story is that it was not predictable. There was two good story lines that fit together very well. Not a cookie cutter ending. Really made you feel for a couple of the characters. Loved it!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

listened to it in 2 days

I enjoyed it very much. Where is the next one in the series?

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started off good then lost steam...

Started off good, but lost steam. I kept waiting for intrigue, danger, something. It just never hooked me. The characters had potential, but never got there.

Solid reading by Morton.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying plot, vivid characters, great narration

Highly recommend! Images of the fictional Crimson Lake and its inhabitants - human, avian, reptilian, etc. - are not fading any time soon! Thanks to the author and narrator for a brilliant journey.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great audio book

best audio book yet. Great story and fantastic flawed and lovable characters. can't wait for the next installment

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good BUT...

I haven't had a book in a while that I could not put down so I was thrilled coming across this one. For the most part that is... the first 3/4 was SOOO good and I could not stop listening. Unfortunately the last 1/4 of the book was a huge disappointment and I was surprised about the the sudden change from brilliant to lame and cheesy.

6 people found this helpful

.