adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $16.95

Buy for $16.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling.... A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.” (David Wroblewski)

“A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more - a cause for celebration. What a great novel by a great novelist.” (Dennis Lehane)

A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin - critically acclaimed author of Smonk and  Hell at the Breech - Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

©2010 Tom Franklin (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

I loved everything about this book. The characters and plot never grew boring. The southern accents were perfection with none of the annoying drawl used by non-southerners which deliberately implies stupidity.
Tom Franklin wrote an exquisite book and Kevin Kenerly gave a superb narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Story!

This is one of those books I can recommend unconditionally. I read it several years ago and loved it, then decided I’d like to listen to it. The narrator was wonderful and I enjoyed the listen just as much as the reading. The characters are well developed and easy to become invested in. I thought the tales of childhood interspersed with the present day was well done and contributed to the telling. It revolves around a murder mystery, but is more about friendships, families, alienation and perseverance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The characters became my friends

I listened to this during travels to check on an ill family member. Silas and Larry became my friends. Good character development, an interesting plot and great narrating brought these characters to life! This engrossing book made my travels less burdensome.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Okay. Now my heart hurts

Yes, it is a murder mystery. Yes, it is a Southern story. But most of all, it is a richly told human story enriched by authentic narration and well worth the listener’s time. Kevin Kenerly is excellent.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Mystery in Deep South

I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't hardly put it down. Hearing this on Audible, I was grateful for the narrator's southern accent as well as the accent of Southern black folk. I hope you get to read this book! Cudos to the author and his choice of the narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

Kind of slow but a satisfyingly good listen. Kind of an old-fashioned novel that is worth sticking with it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

very enjoyable

Great character development, I wanted to be Larry's friend. Tied up a little neatly, but I'm okay with that!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Strong language, racial slurs and filthy minded characters. accurate for its time and place setting. Overall the story line kept my attention. I had a hard time with words used but I'm happy I stuck with it to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mostly a good read...

the writing was so detailed that I could see everything clearly in my mind's eye... the story though was a little slow and somewhat boring but I liked it anyway... the actor had a really good command of appropriate accent a little whispery that was annoying at times and again I still liked his performance...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly writing !!!

I’m 30 minutes from finishing “so” I’m on edge to sleep in triumph after a great book !!!! A must read fore-sure 😉

1 person found this helpful