• Danger Close

  • A Breed Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Cameron Curtis
  • Narrated by: Jared Zeus
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (337 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

They were powerful and ruthless, but they made one mistake. His name is Breed. Danger Close is the first in the stunning Breed action thriller series. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, Jason Kasper and David Archer. 

Ex-Delta Force sniper Breed has spent most of his life at war, and now he’s trying to make some time for peace. But when a veteran from his old unit is murdered in El Paso, Breed feels duty-bound to bring the killer to justice. A feeling that only grows stronger when his friend’s widow and son are also murdered. As he uses all his specialist skills to uncover the truth, Breed finds himself working with some unlikely allies - a devious CIA operative and a determined Latina reporter. Together, they uncover a conspiracy to launch a massive attack on US soil. The terrorists are confident - they have powerful friends in the Mexican cartels and US law enforcement. But they have reckoned without one thing - Breed.

©2021 Cameron Curtis (P)2022 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Danger Close

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Curtis joins my favorite author list!!!

Picked this new book up, thought I would take a chance. This is one of my better finds! This book is absolutely fantastic, I mean that in all sincerity. Could not be any clearer if I tried. If you like the action/thriller genre you will be doing yourself a disservice if you pass this book up.
The publisher’s summary is ok but makes this book sound like your everyday run of the mill shoot ‘me up template type book that seems to be taking up a lot of new books these days.
This book does have a lot of action, bat ‘me up and shoot it out scenes. However it also has a well thought out, well written story to go with it. There os drug smuggling, trafficking of young girls, tunnels running under the wall between Mexico and the US, illegal workers, terrorists, and murders. When the protagonist’s army friend is murdered and beheaded he is compelled to find out the truth that the local sheriff seems to want to sweep under the rug. And how could someone surprise his ex-Delta friend get the best of him. A man who made it through Iraq and Afghanistan with skills most men do not possess.
Jared Zeus does a superb job narrating.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Way better than I expected

I like me some ex-military action heroes... I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The story wasn't bad, the action and weapons details were pretty good. A lot of the military details were more accurate than is often the case from authors who have no military experience.
Narration was well done minus the reader not looking up how to pronounce some of the acronyms. SERE pronounced like Apple's Siri is an example.
Worth the listen! I can't wait for Audible to get more of the books in this series.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Reach redux

First time author for me, shades of Jack Reacher, the ex Delta soldier that can seemingly do everything.

Not long on character development, this book is action packed from start to finish. If you like it, you burn right through it, which I did.

Not a deep book but very entertaining.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great first book

I was not sure about this one and was pleasantly surprised. Looking forward to his second.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very violent and graphic.

This story was too violent and graphic for me. Gave me nightmares. Very good narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pronunciation?

The book was good, not great. I would listen to others in the series, but if they use the same narrator someone please tell him how to pronounce Fayetteville.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

it's good!

good book and narration. if you like the kick ass type stories this is s good one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breed

Jack Carr and Brad Thor step aside this guy is a good writer. Great listen!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!!

Like other reviews can’t go wrong with this book can’t wait for the next, good job!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book and presentation

I hated to have the book end. It’s one of the very best that I’ve listened to. The twists and turns kept me excited to see what was next. I hope there will be more Breed books.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colin Almond
  • Colin Almond
  • 04-12-22

tired formula

better authors have written the same formula and for this writer achieved no success or enjoyment