adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

No secret stays buried forever.

When a torrential rainstorm uncovers a hidden corpse, small-town reporter Leah Nash is called in to cover the story.

The body is identified as Sister Mattea Riordan. Leah knew her. She was a nun who worked as an administrator at DeMoss Academy, the local school for troubled kids. The same school that Leah’s sister Lacey attended when she died in a tragic accident five years earlier.

The property at DeMoss Academy includes a large woods and a stretch of bluffs high above the Himmel River. Investigators think it was from this location that Sister Mattea plunged to her death and drowned.

But that’s not the shocking part.

Just before she died, Sister Mattea sent Leah a cryptic message. And it had something to do with Leah’s sister...

What if Lacey’s death wasn’t an accident?

What if it was a murder?

What if that same person killed Sister Mattea to cover their misdeeds?

That would mean the killer is still out there.

Now Leah is determined to uncover the truth.

Even if the killer comes after her next...

Dangerous Habits is the first book in the Leah Nash Mystery Series written by former reporter, Susan Hunter. Filled with suspenseful twists and turns, this fictional investigative series is great for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter.

©2014 Susan Hunter (P)2019 Susan Hunter

Critic Reviews

"...[A] twisty tale that keeps readers guessing right up to the heart-stopping climax.” (Shannon Baker, author of the Kate Fox Mystery Series)

What listeners say about Dangerous Habits

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Dangerous Habits by Susan Hunter Narrated by Any Dannenmueller

This was a riveting story, hard to put down. I was really surprised at the ending. I really enjoyed listening to the narrator.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent narration of great mystery

I was concerned that the audiobook would not match up to how I heard the characters in my mind while reading the book, but the narrator, Amy Dannenmueller, did an great job. I was especially impressed with her Leah Nash, the flawed protagonist of this compelling, well-written mystery. Hopefully there will be other audiobooks of the Leah Nash mystery series narrated by Ms. Dannenmueller, she is wonderfully talented.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wow

It's hard for me to write a review of this book. Leah Nash is determined to solve the murders of a nun and her sister. However, once she gets started, she uncovers scandals and deceit everywhere. There is a lot going on in this book and the subject matter is very dark. But, Susan Hunter makes it work. I enjoyed this book and will get the next book in this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller!

I couldn’t stop listening to this book. What an exciting thriller, so well written. There are so many twists and turns, I could never have guessed the outcome. I can’t wait for the next book in the series. Keep them coming!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good story

I enjoyed this book, which was mostly listened to while driving. There are a lot of twists and turns that keep the story interesting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fine mystery

This is the first book I’ve read by Susan Hunter, but it won’t be the last. The female protagonist is realistic, filled with an impulsive and curious nature, working for the local paper when she is given a note that sets her on a collision course with murder, a sex ring, and local residents who are quirky and kind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good mystery

This was a good story, once you get past the first few chapters...was a bit tedious. That said, once the story picked up some speed it became enjoyable. Reporter Leah Nash finds herself investigating the death of a nun who had been connected to the place where Leah’s troubled teen sister had died. As Leah gets closer to the truth of what happened all those years ago, she just might find herself in danger.
Didn’t see the ending coming.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

This book is soooooo good! It keeps you guessing and is very intriguing. Lots of scandal.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacki
  • Jacki
  • 06-17-21

mixed review

I found the lead role Leah to be so unlikable, I struggled to enjoy the book as much as I should. I really liked the story, just not Leah