• Dark Passage

  • Violet Darger FBI Mystery Thriller, Book 7
  • By: L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain
  • Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
  • Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The corpse juts from the heaping bulge of the landfill. Milky white flesh laid bare by the front loader's blade. Naked. Female. Face down in the garbage.

When three bodies turn up in a landfill outside of Philadelphia, FBI profiler Violet Darger heads to Pennsylvania to investigate. Right away there's a major complication. The emaciated corpses appear to have been starved to death. Darger arrives in time for the autopsies. As she watches the withered bodies laid out on the stainless steel slabs of the morgue, their faces crusted with sandy soil, skin pulled taut around knobby cheekbones, she thinks: what kind of a person could carry out such harsh acts? Figuring out the warped psychology might be the key to solving the case. Forensic evidence helps Darger trace the bodies to a particular dumpster in West Philadelphia. It's the first step down the long, dark passage this case leads her through.

Because the city is full of deadly secrets—horrors waiting beneath the surface.

In her most shocking and bizarre case yet, darkness comes for Darger in a way it never had before. Surrounds her. Envelops her. Will she find her way back to the light?

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final word. Fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson, Michael Connelly, and Lisa Regan should check out the Violet Darger series. Scroll up and grab it now.

©2021 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain (P)2022 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain

What listeners say about Dark Passage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Darger and Loshak are back with nonstop action.

In January of 2021 I read Dark Passage and my original review is included following this addition based on the audiobook I recently listened to. When I was offered a review copy of the audiobook for Dark Passage by the authors, I immediately took the opportunity. Listening to Natalie Naudus narrate a story I had previously enjoyed, was an excellent experience, not only are Natalie’s narration skills top-notch, but she also brought the story to life by giving voice to each of the characters.

It has been quite a while since Violet Darger was teamed up with Victor Loshak, and what a return Dark Passage is. Darger and Loshak are confronted with a case that seems to be missing all the elements except a trio of dead bodies that soon turns into a quartet. With no who, when or why they have to rely on every instinct they have developed as detectives. If bodies in a land fill weren’t enough, this story takes each of its characters on a journey that forces them to confront some of their deepest fears in order to get to the answer and the perpetrator. While I have come to expect some intense action in L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain’s stories, they out did themselves in Dark passage. As a PSA, you may not want to start reading this book later in the evening, unless you don’t mind a night without sleep, because Dark Passage is not a book you can put down easily, unless you are finished with that last word. I received an Advance Reader Copy and chose to provide this review.