• Dark State

  • Jason Trapp, Book 1
  • By: Jack Slater
  • Narrated by: Mark Garkusha
  • Length: 11 hrs and 30 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Long ago, men of violence ruled with an iron fist. They owed loyalty only to themselves. Their names were whispered but never spoken. In parts of the world, those old traditions still hold strong. Power there spews from the barrel of a gun. Laws are shaped with lead, taxes paid in cold dread.

But not America. Because we, too, have those whose names are whispered. Men who know nothing but the gray zone between life and death, whose only calling in life is to do the things the rest of us dare not, the things that keep us safe. Men like the Hangman, a covert operative whose feats became the stuff of legend. He was the tip of the spear—the man his country unleashed when all hope was lost. Six months ago, someone sold him out. The agency listed him as "killed in action". He lost everything he held dear.

But legends never die...the Hangman is back. And he's looking for blood.

Fans of Ryan, Reacher, and Bourne will love betrayed CIA operative Jason Trapp, who stars in a pulse-pounding revenge thriller in 2019's breakout hit.

Note: Dark State was previously published as Deep State.  

©2021 Jack Slater (P)2022 Jack Slater

What listeners say about Dark State

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great series starter

This is the first book in Jack Slater’s Jason Trapp series. Despite being my first experience with Slater as well with narrator Mark Garkusha, I immediately grabbed the audio based on a recommendation. So glad I did.

The action and mystery start immediately with the events that will be known as “Bloody Sunday”. Slater does a good job balancing worldbulding, suspense, digital spying, and various responses. Trapp finds himself unwittingly drawn into to the conflict and then learns he’s central to solving the mystery of who is behind terrorist attacks. This has strong political thriller elements as well. Pacing was well done and made it difficult anytime I had to stop listening.

I enjoyed the secondary characters, especially President Nash and FBI agent Dani Carter. I hope she’s going to be in future books. Even the protagonist was someone you love to hate. With lots of unreliable folks around, it took me a bit to figure out who it was.

I liked the way Slater wrapped things up. It’s wide open where Jason Trapp can go from here and I’m looking forward to False Flag. However, I’ll absolutely be waiting for the audiobook because…

Narration:
I was nervous listening because not only is Garkusha new to me, this is his first audiobook narration. Garkusha blew me away and I don’t have a single complaint about his performance. I learned he’s not new to VO or acting. That experience has obviously paid off. He does a wonderful job with all the emotions, evoking tension, and giving all the characters unique voices and accents consistent with Slater’s writing. What a fantastic listen and I’ll be eagerly waiting for more audios with Garkusha at the helm.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a great audio book!

Until now, I have not had the opportunity to listen to an audio book for this series. I am so glad that they are now publishing in the format. Mark Garkusha does an excellent job with the characters and the story is outstanding (as most of you probably know if you read the books). I cant say enough good things about this audio book. Absolutely worth it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC

This is a phenomenal debut audiobook from jack slater. From start to finish it’s a nonstop roller coaster ride! Can’t wait for the other books to become audiobooks.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr Scott Burman
  • Mr Scott Burman
  • 06-28-22

Oops, I’d already read the book …

I started listening to this audiobook and quickly realised that I had already read it. However this did not stop me in the slightest. If anything, it is even better as an audiobook and I particularly enjoyed listening to it on my commute home. In fact, sometimes I took a particularly long route to and from work just so I could listen to more. Well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms Judith M Skinner
  • Ms Judith M Skinner
  • 06-06-22

A good gripping story

the narration of the book really brought the story to life I thoroughly enjoyed

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeremy
  • Jeremy
  • 05-26-22

A brilliant and scarily plausible thriller

Loved this book. First one I have listened to featuring Jason Trapp. Great narration and a scarily plausible plot. Can’t wait for the next Trapp thriller

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for peterf
  • peterf
  • 05-24-22

Non stop action

Compelling character narrative drives this action packed story forward. Jason Trapp is a well defined action hero, a complex man with a sense of duty. Supporting characters continue to knit together and weave a story of intrigue and betrayal. Can’t wait until I read more of this fascinating character.