adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The USA Today and Edgar Award Nominated Best Seller

"If you enjoyed The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, read Darling Rose Gold." (Washington Post)

“Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction.” (Lee Child)

A most anticipated book of 2020 by Newsweek ∙ Marie Claire ∙ Bustle ∙ ShondalandPopSugar ∙ Woman’s Day ∙ Good Housekeeping ∙ BookRiot ∙ She Reads

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive.

For the first 18 years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold.

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar.

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere to go and begs her daughter to take her in. The entire community is shocked when Rose Gold says yes.

Patty insists all she wants is to reconcile their differences. She says she's forgiven Rose Gold for turning her in and testifying against her. But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty Watts always settles a score.

Unfortunately for Patty, Rose Gold is no longer her weak little darling...

And she's waited such a long time for her mother to come home.

“Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious” (J. P. Delaney, New York Times best-selling author of The Girl Before)

“One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut” (Samantha Downing, USA Today best-selling author of My Lovely Wife)

©2020 Stephanie Wrobel (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

One of...

Newsweek’s 20 Most Anticipated Books of 2020
Marie Claire's Best Books by Women in 2020 
Washington Post's what to read in 2020 based on the books you loved in 2019
Woman’s Day Best Fiction Books Coming Out in 2020
Bustle’s 20 Must-Read Books of 2020
PopSugar’s 41 Books Coming Out in 2020 that Need to Be on Your TBR Now
Goodhousekeeping.com's The 20 best books of 2020 to add to your reading list ASAP 

"Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train...set to be next year's biggest thriller." (Stylist)

Darling Rose Gold is an absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it." (Lisa Jewell, New York Times best-selling author of The Family Upstairs)

Editor's Pick

Mommy dearest?
"Mother-daughter relationships rarely get more complicated than that of Patty and Rose Gold Watts. Patty went to prison for spending decades making her daughter ill in a case of Munchausen by proxy, yet Rose Gold, who testified against her mother, picks up Patty upon her release five years later and takes her home. What ensues is a masterclass in manipulation, psychological damage, and pure old vengeance. It’s a fun, wild ride with Megan Dodds and Jill Winternitz as our narrator guides, each embodying these two women and immersing us in this complex thriller."
Abby W., Audible Editor

What listeners say about Darling Rose Gold

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    323
  • 4 Stars
    203
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    390
  • 4 Stars
    138
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    280
  • 4 Stars
    182
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dee Dee and Gypsy Rose-esque but way better ending

I devoured this page turner in one and a half days. Patty is amazing (in such an awful way) and has really done a number on "darling" Rose Gold. Both performances are spot-on perfection. This is definitely the best book I have listened to in ages, I hardly ever feel the need to write reviews. SO GOOD. Use your credit on this one.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Ending.....really?

Okay this was an amazing book. I started and couldn't stop until the very end. Won't give any spoilers but I will say the end made me go really? Dot.dot.dot Really?The whole book was wonderful.I was left guessing,Putting the pieces together,And rooting for the bad guy. I love books like this that keep you on the edge of your seat the whole way through. This book definitely did and the narration was on point.I loved everything about it, except the end.Even though the end left something to be desired, it's still was amazing.I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery.Also the medical information in this book was very accurate which makes following it even more interesting.Great book

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Too much crazy in that kitchen

This genre seemed to have started with Gone Girl. There isn't a sympathetic character in the book. No one to root for. I hated it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delicious!

Rose Gold is the ultimate story of sacrifice and revenge. This tale is woven through the life span of a young girl who's mother kept her sick for attention, and then when Rose is an adult, her mother wants her help.

The secrets and lies that come to the surface are shocking. Rose isn't the girl she used to be, but she is so glad her mom is coming home.

I devoured this audio book in no time and I was consumed with the characters. Well done Ms Wrobel!

-Wendi

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Twisted relationship

It's clear from the beginning that this mother-daughter dynamic isn't a healthy one, and unfortunately, that takes a lot of the suspense out of the story as it progresses. The only real question is which one of them will prevail in this battle of cunning. There are a few unexpected reveals, and if you want a story where good overcomes evil, this isn't it. The narrators were both good, and this book is written in an alternating narrative voice, so using two different narrators was essential.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Eh

Very unbelievable. All of the characters are unlikable. Knew where the story was going from the start, and it’s hard to believe that each character was so oblivious to each other character’s motivations.

**Spoiler**
No way Rosegold would have gotten away with any of it at the end. The mother was obviously set up and could have been easily proven by law enforcement.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Summary

This story was a little simple for me. This is a story that happens many times to children and i just didn't see the humor of a bad situation.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow what an interesting story!

I absolutely loved this story it was just entertaining and Patty the mom was my favorite. I normally don't listen to this type of book but what s nice change. I definitely recommend this book! The narrator was also phenomenal.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is an AMAZING STORY!

Amazing but scary!! It Will make you think about those people who hold grudges forever!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t put this down

I really enjoyed listening to Patty and Rosegold the performance was pretty amazing. The story was creepy and I couldn’t wait to get to the end and find out what was going to happen.

2 people found this helpful