• Date with Betrayal

  • The Dales Detective, Book 7
  • By: Julia Chapman
  • Narrated by: Elizabeth Bower
  • Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.08

Buy for $13.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O'Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him?

Death is coming to Bruncliffe; its target is Samson O’Brien.

Oblivious to his impending date with fate, Samson is busy juggling a number of cases at the Dales Detective Agency. Too busy, in fact, to notice his partner behaving oddly.

Because Delilah Metcalfe knows what is coming. A hitman. Sent from London with one objective: to finally silence the troublesome O’Brien before his corruption case can make it to court.

With Samson’s life in peril, and betrayal around every corner, Delilah has no choice but to call in favours from all of her Bruncliffe connections in order to counteract the menace threatening to engulf the Dales town.

The only trouble is, the townsfolk have long memories and deep grievances when it comes to Samson O’Brien. Trust must be earned, and they will take some convincing before they put themselves in danger in order to save him.

And even then, it might not prove enough....

A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin series.

©2022 Julia Chapman (P)2022 Macmillan Publishers International Limited

What listeners say about Date with Betrayal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lou Lou
  • Lou Lou
  • 03-31-22

Fast paced and brilliant!

I have been eagerly awaiting this latest visit to Bruncliffe, and happily relistened to all of the previous books over the past week, to recap the story arc so far.
This latest installment did not disappoint at all, and although I have listened to the whole thing on the very first day possible, it has also kept me on the edge of my seat all day long too!
I was breathless with excitement as the book went along.
Absolutely love this series of books and long may it continue!
Excellent work by the author and the narrator once again! :-)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susan pratt
  • susan pratt
  • 05-26-22

Catching up ,once again

it was magical ,special . Can not wait for the next release . Leaves you wanting more .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lesley
  • Lesley
  • 05-19-22

Never Disappointed with this series!

Absolutely enthralling and thoroughly entertaining as have been the previous Dales Detective series. Wonderfully narrated by Elizabeth Bower as always!
These books should be made into a TV Series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 05-14-22

Worth waiting for!

This was great fun. Extremely humorous in parts and tense as the plot built up. One of the best in the series. Left with another question which will have to wait for a year to be answered, roll on 2023.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-26-22

Another wonderful instalment

I am loving this series of books. I find the characters particularly appealing, the plots expertly weaved, and narration delightful. Perfect for fans of cosy crime, but I would say higher quality than most. If you like Richard Osman’s recent novels, you’ll love this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-26-22

Great storyline and narration

I've listened to all the previous books but I think this one could well be the best so far. An easy read with lots of great characters brought alive by the brilliant narrator Elizabeth Bower. Being a resident of where "Bruncliffe" is based on makes it even more exciting. Looking forward to the next episode in the adventures

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pti
  • pti
  • 04-23-22

Can’t wait for the next one…this series is a must read!

My favourite book in the series so far. This series is brilliantly written with characters you fall in love with, laugh out loud moments, emotional moments and a fabulous plot. My only complaint is the time between book releases, but so worth the wait.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cogger
  • cogger
  • 04-22-22

Absolutely loved it.

Please, please .please hurry up and publish the next in the series.
Each book gets better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Baz 48
  • Baz 48
  • 04-18-22

Loved this book

I loved the dry humour combined with the overall mystery and the fact that the residents of Fell-side were once again included within the plot. Really enjoyable story without any ‘gore’ .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patricia Ann Johnson
  • Patricia Ann Johnson
  • 04-10-22

Date with Betrayal

Brilliant did not want it to end there are still a lot of things that we need the answers to so, I do hope that there’s another book because there are still some loose ends but I I felt I was in the story to,the detail was brilliant don’t want to wait too long for the next book hoping there will be one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-17-22

Fabulous.

Twists and turns. Resolves some of the ongoing story, and leaves the reader with yet another cliff hanger. As always, can't wait to find out what happens next.