adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.08

Buy for $13.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Julia Chapman's fifth Dales Detectives Agency novel, Date With Danger, sees our intrepid leads Samson and Delilah on the trail of a sheep rustler turned killer. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Gervase Phinn.

In the heart of Yorkshire, the Dales Detective Agency is about to face its biggest challenge. 

A fatal accident at Bruncliffe’s livestock auction mart leads auctioneer Harry Furness to call in detective duo Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe, but what starts as a simple health-and-safety investigation soon takes a sinister turn when they discover evidence that suggests murder.

With their inquiries ongoing, Clive Knowles approaches them for help – his sheep are being threatened by the gang of rustlers that is plaguing the Dales. Meanwhile, poacher Pete Ferris has also decided to play his hand, setting in motion a blackmail plot which will ensure Samson is pulled back into trouble with his nemesis Rick Procter.

When all three cases begin to converge, Samson and Delilah will find that their latest investigation is fraught with danger; a danger that could leave them fighting for their lives.

©2020 Julia Chapman (P)2020 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

What listeners say about Date with Danger

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lesley
  • Lesley
  • 01-11-22

Absolutely Absorbing

I've loved every one of this series. Being involved in Agriculture all of my life I can say that the references to farming and particularly this story revolving around an auction mart are accurate and for me make the stories even more exciting and enjoyable. Well done Julia Chapman.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-07-21

Loving the series

Loving this series, getting to know the characters. It's a great listen while I'm driving or something to listen to instead of TV.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H
  • H
  • 04-01-21

Outstanding - yet again

A great series - I could not recommend highly enough. Fun , excellent characterisation and great narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-08-21

brilliant series

I've devoured the entire series so far and can't wait until the next book. the narrator is superb.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqueline
  • Jacqueline
  • 01-21-21

A Gripping tale

As usual a story told with humour, and a good knowledge of how Yorkshire Dale's people think and act. The mystery keeps you guessing and all in all it is a most enjoyable tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lou Lou
  • Lou Lou
  • 01-10-21

This series is brilliant

I absolutely love this series of books. All so cleverly plotted, with lots of twists and red herrings to keep you guessing.
All played out with such likeable characters.
Elizabeth Bower brings each one to life amazingly well.
I'm loving revisiting this whole series in readiness for Book 7 being released very soon.
All of them are just as enjoyable as the first time I heard them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tricky Vicky
  • Tricky Vicky
  • 11-30-20

Tolpuddle does it again!!

Cracking story. The characterisation is really developing, especially Tolpuddle's! Can't wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-16-20

Sorry it ended

Listened to whole series back to back, thoroughly enjoyed each book, sorry I have run out of books. Can't wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-01-20

Phew!!! A close thing eh Sampson and Delilah......

I have listened to all of the series so far back to back....they have me gripped, very much like the Midsummer Murder TV series, the obvious culprit is not the one you should keep your eye on, throw away phrases or incidents that later prove vital....the love interest obviously growing and the main protagonist still just about getting away with their antics....no spoilers but I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire series so far, really looking forward to episode 6 of the Dales Detective series.....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS
  • MRS
  • 08-10-20

another great story

Loved this one as I enjoyed the others When is the next one out? Can't wait.