adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $13.08

Buy for $13.08

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Date with Poison is the brilliant fourth novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective Agency series, and is perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin series. Spring is in the air in Bruncliffe but not everyone is filled with the joys of the season.

Samson O’Brien of the Dales Detective Agency is being questioned by the police about a murder, with the truth about his policing past about to be brutally exposed. And with Bruncliffe turning on Samson, his business partner Delilah Metcalfe finds herself in the impossible position of defending him to her friends and family.

Then Delilah’s nephew, accused of being under Samson’s influence, runs away from home and a frantic search begins. And with attention turning to Nathan, only a local vet is paying attention to a worrying spate of canine poisonings happening throughout the village. Bruncliffe is turning toxic and with suspicion raining down on him, Samson knows he has to ask Delilah for help. 

Can she forgive his transgressions and help him so that they can find Nathan and the poisoner, or has the poison already spread too far? 

©2019 Julia Chapman (P)2019 Macmillan Digital Audio

What listeners say about Date with Poison

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susi Moffat
  • Susi Moffat
  • 12-16-20

Fantastic

I absolutely love this series - so well-written, with great characters, and fantastic plot twists. The narration is excellent also. This series is suited to fans of cozy mysteries such as Agatha Raisin, or Midsomer Murders.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacqueline
  • Jacqueline
  • 12-12-20

Yorkshire Tale

Brilliant story as usual from Julia Chapman. Twists and turns to keep you guessing with a good dose of humor.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss R C Ingham
  • Miss R C Ingham
  • 12-06-20

A rather addictive series

An addictive series with fabulously flawed and likeable characters, addictive story line and narrated brilliantly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tricky Vicky
  • Tricky Vicky
  • 11-27-20

Brilliant

Love this series. The characters are flawed and, hence, lifelike. The setting is close to where I live so is relatable and the humour is dry. If, like me however, you dislike bullying and underhanded spite, and you have high blood pressure it may be best to take medication before listening to this because it could send your blood pressure through the roof! I finished this whilst praying that Samson quickly gets the chance to uncover the culprits and prove who the good guys are.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EM
  • EM
  • 11-22-20

Tolpuddle The Hero!

I loved hearing a bit more of Tolpuddle’s inner life. He really is a hero! However, Delilah disappoints with her poor and hasty judgment. Will carries on being a complete arse, nearly bringing about tragedy. But a very satisfying happy ending.

The longer story arcs both get a bit of ramping up in this book, leaving us on a cliffhanger. I hope they start reach spectacular finales they deserve, but not before TOO long.

EB continues to be an excellent narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-23-20

Just gets better

This series is excellent. every book takes you to the next with each one having it's own story, but with one running through it as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Croftway
  • Croftway
  • 12-10-19

Really gripping, lovely characters

I have been smitten by the series, and this one was really gripping. can't wait for the next one to come out.
Really nice narration, can't stop listening

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather Green
  • Heather Green
  • 09-14-19

brill

i cant wait for the next installment. hope it comes soon. love the plots and characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Dainter
  • M. Dainter
  • 09-01-19

Engaging

A wonderful story in the series. It is beautifully written and read with the characters leaping to life. Surely this is a cosy crime tv show in the making? I can’t wait for the next instalment.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marguerite Merritt
  • Marguerite Merritt
  • 04-01-21

Where is my book???

I pre-ordered Date with Secret some time ago. I have already paid for this book. It was supposed to arrive in my library today. Where is it, please . I have had to use this form of communication, because I can't find any other way to contact you