• Deadly Wishes

  • Detective Zoe Finch, Book 1
  • By: Rachel McLean
  • Narrated by: Jan Cramer
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Zoe Finch, West Midlands Police's newest Detective Inspector. She's outspoken, ambitious, and damaged. And she's working a case that could make her career, or cost her everything...

Fresh from the success of the Canary investigation into depravity and corruption at the highest levels, she's attracted attention. Not least from Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson.

But when Jackson is brutally murdered on the night of his retirement party, Zoe is dragged into a case that's deeply personal.

All the evidence points to the victim's downtrodden wife, who has secrets of her own. But Zoe begins to suspect all isn't as it seems. Could Jackson's death be linked to the Canary case? And what is her new boss, DCI David Randle, hiding?

Seeking out the truth will force Zoe to confront her own past, and put her career, and her team's lives, on the line.

Deadly Wishes is a gritty crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Caroline Mitchell, and the BBC's Line of Duty.

©2020 Rachel McLean (P)2020 Rachel McLean

What listeners say about Deadly Wishes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good But Not As Good As DCI Leslie Clark series

maybe because I listened to the Leslie Clark series 1st I struggled to see the edge in Zoe Finch because in DCI Leslie's series she is softer spoken and political. But I do really like the serie thus far.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Procedural

One of the better books in this series . Good police procedural and I always love Jan Crammer.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol P.
  • Carol P.
  • 03-26-21

Awful Narration

The story line was good but then totally ruined by the worst narration I have ever heard.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob McG.
  • Bob McG.
  • 09-30-21

Disappointing.

I have recently been reading/listening to first books in series to give me some new detective collections to follow. While the plot in this book was fairly good, I felt that the actual writing was very flat. One of the other reviewers expressed an opinion that the series would make a good television show and I agree, but not for a good reason.
There was so little description of places, characters or of the action itself that it felt as if one was reading a script or screenplay. Some of the characters were given superficial habits and ticks, but there was no real exploration of their inner thoughts. Genuine places were named but with no description. Times of day were filled in for reasons of plot, but there was no atmosphere. Hardly any adjectives were used at all.
The narrator, I think, did a very good job, considering that there were no real hints as what intonation might be appropriate at any time.
Although it ended with some obvious loose end, which will no doubt be resolved in the following books, I did not feel that I knew anything about even the main character and therefore I was not really interested in what happens next.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Z
  • Z
  • 07-05-21

Terrible narration!

The plot, characters and writing is good- but the narration is really dire! She makes everything sound like the bored and monotonous reading out of council meetings minutes ;\ hardly any realistic differentiation in character voices and the cadence and intonation of the main characters is all wrong! It sounds like a rough reading through of the book, rather than a top class performance we come to expect from audible. It’s very off putting, which is such a shame as the story itself is really good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Villa Girl
  • Villa Girl
  • 06-05-21

Good story, less good narration

Like most people in the UK I love Line of Duty so was sold on the 99p promotion “if you love Line of Duty you’ll love this”. The story was decent but it was spoiled by the unrealistic narration. It wasn’t that it was ‘bad’, it was just so wrong for this book. It is set in Birmingham which is where I am from, and the brummie accents were so wrong. An accent is more than just how you pronounce certain words - it’s also the rhythm eg whether sentences end with emphasis or not. This narrator seemed to focus on saying words like ‘yow’ instead of ‘you’ (which is accurate) but then using a West Country drawl with it. She forgot the accent quite often and would then suddenly remember in a sentence when the word ‘you’ appeared because she could say ‘yow’ in true Brummie style. Additionally the posh accents belonged in the home counties not Sutton Coldfield which is the posh part of Birmingham. A city centre police station won’t have such a range of very strong regional accents - it will be quite neutral. When you add in Rhodri’s very strong South Wales accent to the terrible Brummie accent, Cassie’s high pitched childish effort and the West Country burr’s it was just too much. I also hated the way she said Uddin with an emphasis on ‘Uh’ when it should be pronounced ‘Oo-din’ An issue with the author is that Mo Uddin is clearly Muslim but married to a non-Muslim women, which does happen but is uncommon and so I found that unrealistic.

So all in all an enjoyable book with an interesting storyline and a good first book for others to continue from, but I will read the others on my Kindle and save my audible credits for something else.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-03-21

Ok but the inane narration makes it impossible to listen

The audible description of the book sounded quite good so I downloaded urgh big mistake , the story takes way too long to develop mostly due to the fact the lady narrator is absolutely useless , no infliction in her voice just a monotone drone that is never ending it is so bad I had to give up with 4 hours 20 mins left as my ears and brain could take no more of the quite frankly worst piece of audiobook narration I have ever heard and I have been an audible member for 9 years and have over 400 titles but I can honestly say I will be going nowhere near the rest of this authors series or any book narrated by this narrator it is just too painful to listen to

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Baz
  • Baz
  • 03-14-21

Deadly Wishes

Very enjoyable story interesting plot hard to put down reader excellent look forward to the next book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen S.
  • Karen S.
  • 01-09-21

A fantastic new detective series

What a fantastic first book in the series .. so many twists and turns and when you have Jan Cramer doing the narrating , it’s a winner all over

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 01-03-21

First book ✔️

I have enjoyed this book the series I can see will be another favourite, the Narrator is very good too.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-20-22

A very disappointing read

So disappointing, I couldn't wait to get to the end. Why does the Author seem to think that all Police Officers speak to each other in such a horrible manner ? Totally unbelievable, the plot , characters , everything about it .

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie mason
  • Stephanie mason
  • 12-05-21

Awful Narration

I absolutely loved this story line and I really wanted to know what happened in the end which is why I carried on with this listen. However, the narration was AWFUL. Why did everyone sound bored, annoyed and angry?! Get a better narrator and I will happily listen to more by this author

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 07-10-21

I guess it was ok

This was mildly entertaining although at times I could listen but not really comprehend. Thes books are really at times quite disappointing I want to find a brilliant book soon.