• Dear Emmie Blue

  • A Novel
  • By: Lia Louis
  • Narrated by: Katy Sobey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (952 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Dear Emmie Blue  By  cover art

Dear Emmie Blue

By: Lia Louis
Narrated by: Katy Sobey
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this charming and poignant novel that "oozes charm and wit and speaks beautifully about friendship and love, and the differences between the two" (Laura Pearson, author of I Wanted You to Know), teenager Emmie Blue releases a balloon with her email address and a big secret into the sky, only to fall head-over-heels for the boy who finds it. But 14 years later, everything Emmie has planned is up in the air.

At 16, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address...and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached address, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, 14 years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship - she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue "beautifully captures the heartache and frustrations of carrying our teenaged selves with us wherever we go" (Anstey Harris, author of Goodbye Paris) that is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

©2020 Lia Louis. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Orion Publishing Group. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Dear Emmie Blue

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    601
  • 4 Stars
    244
  • 3 Stars
    85
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    684
  • 4 Stars
    151
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    528
  • 4 Stars
    223
  • 3 Stars
    84
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 Stars!!!

Loved the writing, loved the story, and loved the perfect ending. This book had a lot of "feels," but there was a heavy melancholy undertone for a large portion of the story that demanded a happy ending. Thankfully there was also a lot of witty banter and amazing friendships that helped lift the story out of it's somber moments. For readers who enjoy women's fiction with wit, strong friendships, and romance, Dear Emmie Blue is a stellar choice.

The audio was absolutely fabulous! Katy Sobey is a narrator I'll be seeking out in the future.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

I loved this novel! The narrator is one of the best I have ever heard. Definitely recommend!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A sweet story

I enjoyed it. I remember my pen-pal and how enriching they were to ny life. I don't think people do that anymore, but it was nice to imagine it with a romantic twist.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Read

loved this book. I enjoyed all aspects of it. I especially liked how it all came together in the end.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Good

I’m not usually one to read romance novels. If your image of romance novels is that of stories that aren’t really stories and they feel as though the author is awkwardly shoving this random romance down your throat for no reason then you’ll be pleasantly surprised. This novel was written well, covers a wide range of life issues and handles them gracefully. You are brought to really empathize with the characters. The romance is gentle and inevitable and lovely. Not only is this a good book for a romance novel it’s also a good book in general. Plain as that.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story in a lovely voice

Truly enjoyed this listen!
Complex characters you sometimes want to shake for their sheer humanness - and that’s what makes it real.
The story was made richer through the excellent narration.
Well done all ‘round!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Eh...

WAY too long and drawn out. I was expecting to love this book based on other's reviews and kept waiting for something to happen that would make me look forward to listening, but that never happened.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Warm wonderful story about hope love and friendship!

I truly enjoyed listening to this well-written and superbly narrated story about how Emmie finally finds the happiness she deserves. Other than for the friendship with Lucas, she had been living a stagnated life, almost paralyzed for all those years since the "incident". She's working a low-pay, dead-end job, rents a room in an elderly lady's house, and has only a couple of friends outside of her friendship with Lucas. She is at her happiest when interacting with Lucas, but, instead of relying on him, she needs to find her happiness within herself.

This is a lovely story, written in a charming and entertaining style. It has sadness, warmth, humor, romance, and is almost a perfect chick lit book.
The narration fits wonderfully with the story !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting

A must listen! Dear Emmie Blue is captivating! I couldn’t put it down. I was cheering for her from the start and loved how her life worked itself out. Perfectly charming, well written and captured so well by Katy Sobey. She nailed all the accents! Great listen. Go ahead… order it!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Slow and Boring

No matter how hard I tried I simply could not get into the story. The constant missed opportunities, misunderstandings and mixed messages just became painful to listen to after a while. It was just too unrealistic and I gave up about three chapters in