adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Pretty Things and The Guest List comes a shocking novella of psychological suspense following a glamorous young actress and an obsessed fan.

Dear Seraphina, I hope you’ll write back someday soon. I know I might be asking too much: you, a Hollywood star; me, a cashier at this small-town grocery store. But the thing is, Seraphina: I have information I think you need to know. And don’t worry about how I got it. Just remember I’ll do anything - anything in the world - to protect you.

This captivating listen begins with fan letters to a beloved young actress, Seraphina, that become increasingly unhinged. As more and more is revealed about the troubled woman behind the fan mail and her connection to the starlet, a story of obsession becomes an expertly plotted tale of wrongdoing and revenge.  

©2021 Avery Bishop (P)2021 Audible Originals, LLC.

Dear Listener,

What was my favorite part about writing this story?
"Epistolary fiction is nothing new—Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein is told through letters, while Bram Stoker’s Dracula uses letters, journal entries, newspaper clippings, and telegrams—but it’s also something you don’t often see. Mainly because it can be difficult to tell a story this way, especially one that’s meant to be suspenseful. Many years ago, working as an editor at a magazine, I had the idea for a story told all in cover letters from a writer sending stories to an editor. Like all writers, this writer wanted to get published, but as the story went on, it became clear that the writer was so obsessed with getting published that it put the editor and his family’s life in danger. (That story, by the way, was called “Persistence.”) With Dear Seraphina, I wanted to try something a bit different, telling the story entirely through letters, email, and progress notes. I wanted to play with listeners’ expectations and emotions, while, at the same time, I wanted to add in a few good twists. I had a lot of fun writing this novella, and I hope you, dear listener, have a lot of fun listening to it." –Avery Bishop, creator of Dear Seraphina

About the Creator

Avery Bishop, whose books include Girl Gone Mad and One Year Gone, is the pseudonym for a USA Today best-selling author of more than a dozen novels.

About the Performer

Thérèse Plummer is an actor and award-winning audiobook narrator working in New York City. She has recorded over 350 audiobooks for various publishers. She was nominated for the 2019 Audie Awards for her work on the multicast Sadie by Courtney Summers for Macmillan Audio, multicast Any Man by Amber Tamblyn for Harper Audio, and her solo narration for The Rogue Planets Shaken by Lee W. Brainard for Podium Publishing. The American Library Association (ALA) awarded her work on Sourdough by Robin Sloan as part of the 2018 Listen List: Outstanding Audiobook Narration for Adult Listeners.
Plummer has been nominated for five Audie Awards in 2018 in the categories: Fiction: She Liked Her Life by Abbie Fabiaschi and co-narrated with Susan Bennett and Dan Bittner, Romance: Any Day Now by Robyn Carr, and Faith-Based Fiction: Sandpiper Cove by Irene Hannon, as well as the multicast narrations for Original Work: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and Middle Grade: See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng (winner). She is the recipient of the 2016 SOVAS Award for Irene Hannon’s Hope Harbor. She was nominated for two Audie Awards in 2014 for her work on Robyn Carr’s The Wanderer and Carson McCuller’s The Ballad of the Sad Café, and received multiple Earphones Awards for her work. Most notably on Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult, Faith by Jennifer Haigh, and We Are Water by Wally Lamb. She was named AudioFile’s Best Voices of the Year for 2015 for her work on Robyn Carr’s A New Hope. Thérèse is the voice of Maya Hansen in the Marvel Graphic Motion Comic Ironman Extremis, Dr. Fennel in Pokemon, and for various Yu-Gi-Oh characters. She performed television guest star roles on The Good Wife, Law & Order: SVU, and Virgin River for Netflix. Regional theater: Sister James in Doubt.
Photo Credit: Jody Christopherson.

About the Performer

Jay is an actor/director who’s been fortunate enough to appear on Broadway, Off-Broadway, regional theatre and TV, and has been doing voiceovers for over ten years. He has voiced for feature films and has been heard on Nickelodeon, WB, Cartoon Network, Fox TV, the SciFi Channel, EWam, and the new CW4Kids. Best known for his work on Saturday morning cartoons like Yu-Gi-Oh! (lead), Viva Pinata (lead), Sonic X, and Pokemon, he has also worked on many other animations and can currently be heard in Gogoriki, Pat and Stan, and Chaotic. His other voiceover work includes several audiobooks, documentaries, promos, and commercials and he continues to be grateful not to have to have a "real job".

What listeners say about Dear Seraphina

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,129
  • 4 Stars
    383
  • 3 Stars
    136
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,212
  • 4 Stars
    271
  • 3 Stars
    77
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,028
  • 4 Stars
    355
  • 3 Stars
    136
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    24

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Shocking

This was a great semi-thriller. It leads you believe one thing then totally flips as the story goes on. Loved it.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

suspenceful.

loved it easy to follow fast paced cheering for the. murderers likeable subject ready set go

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the way this came together!

This was my first time listening to a short story on Audible and I really doubted that it could get to the end in such a short period of time with twists and turns in between. This most definitely did not disappoint!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved It

This short story kept me on edge up until the ending. Main character was definitely a shocker. I usually know the out come in the middle, however I never saw this one coming. Stunning Short Story, with the twist and turns left me smiling and wanting more reads from this author.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So well done...

... I wish it was novel length! And without profanity or gratuitous sex proving it’s possible. Kudos to Avery Bishop for a suspenseful story with a twist!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AJ
  • 05-21-21

Boring. Formulaic. Juvenile.

Ugggh this is one of those stories where the author says "and then abc happened and then xyz happened and then ".... and on and on and on. I have no patience for this type of writing. The story was boring, predictable and had been done a million times before. Uggghh! Don't waste your time even if it is free.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth it

I can’t recommend this enough! This story is the perfect way to spend a couple hours on a rainy, cold Sunday. The third part had me listening with my mouth half open, barely moving a muscle. It was such a fantastic twist!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Creepy

Well done, nice twists, and surprisingly creepy. Like an old episode of Hitchcock Presents. Thumbs up.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great quick listen!

Great short book that keeps you guessing! A perfect quick listen when you just want a quick, strange story!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun short mystery!

It was a nice short mystery and a good listen. One thing though, I had to slow down the reading to 0.9x and I’ve never had to do this with any other narrator before! But it was perfect after showing it down a bit. It was not predictable at all for me so I enjoyed it.

6 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lily Anderson
  • Lily Anderson
  • 06-09-21

What a twist!

If you’ve read/listened to The Wife Between Us then you’ll love this! If you loved this and haven’t read The Wife Between Us… then you’ll love that too! 😁

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ash
  • Ash
  • 10-06-21

Filled an hour and a half

Good narration and acting. the story was a bit predictable and bland. It has the potential to be much more gripping than it is. I can only liken it to a mediocre film you watch all the way through purely because you can't be bothered to turn it off.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-16-21

Short but good!

This was surprisingly good for a short free read. I loved the double twist!
Will look up more of this authors work now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-30-21

AMAZING

Wow! Absolutely loved every minute of this short story. Had me hooked the whole time, and totally didn’t expect the twists and turns that came along! 👏🏾