• Death in Delft

  • A 17th Century Historical Murder Mystery (Master Mercurius Mystery Series, Book 1)
  • By: Graham Brack
  • Narrated by: Alex Wyndham
  • Length: 5 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (43 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.49

Buy for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Three missing girls. Only one body. Where are the others?

1671, Delft

Three young girls have been abducted from their homes. The body of one has been found in a shallow grave. The other two are still missing. The murder has shocked everyone in the peaceful city of Delft, and the mayor is desperate to catch the perpetrator before panic can spread any further.

With the bitterly cold January weather intensifying, it is doubtful that the other two girls are still alive. But whoever took them is still at large.

The mayor requests the help of Master Mercurius, a gifted cleric from a nearby university, and local artist Vermeer, who uses his skills to sketch the crime scenes.

Can they find the missing girls before it's too late? Will Mercurius be able to track down the killer?

Or will more victims succumb to Death in Delft?

©2020 Graham Brack (P)2021 Tantor

What listeners say about Death in Delft

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most delightful Mystery of late

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Alex Wyndham brought the main character to life and gave great rhythm to the presentation.
The story is original and yet comfortably typical. It is surprisedly funny and has a feel of reading a personal journal in which the writers personality shines through.
Already started the second book and I am liking it even more.
Well done!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny but satisfying mystery

I was surprised by historical characters that appeared in this book and really like the main character's voice. More please.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not that good

I wanted to love it; but it was just boring. I struggled to finish it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rachel Bell
  • Rachel Bell
  • 03-18-21

A joy

Totally absorbing,great plot, brilliantly read.
And as an artist myself, lovely to have Vermeer involved.
Off to buy his other books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MartinR
  • MartinR
  • 02-23-21

Shardlake in 17th century Netherlands?

Historical mystery set in 17th century Delft.
Even though this lacks the depth and complexity of C J Sansom's Shardlake series, I found this an enjoyable story, with a similar configuration set in an interesting historical period.
Audiobook finished within 24 hours and I have just ordered book 2, Untrue till Death

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David Beckler
  • David Beckler
  • 02-12-21

A lovely read and listen

I'm so delighted to have discovered this author. For a reader it's the just the best thing when you enjoy a book and know there is a series. The characters are so engaging and the language and humour were an absolute tonic. I'm glad to say too that the narrator feels just right for these books. Highly recommended all round. Triciax

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for H. W. W. Kirby
  • H. W. W. Kirby
  • 03-14-21

Good Performance of a Good Book

This book was recommended by a friend, and while I was intrigued by the concept, the list of books I have yet to read is very long, so it was only when there was a deal that I was persuaded to commit. Having purchased the Kindle edition for the modern equivalent of four pence ha'penny, I was able to aquire the audiobook for less than a pint of mild. I pressed play and set off to walk to North Sheen. It's not a long book, but its story leaves you wondering how you would have acted, poses some theological questions and gives an overview of 17th century Dutch life, art, science and municipal politics.

If you think that sounds a bit dull, prepare to be pleasantly surprised.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Curator
  • The Curator
  • 03-05-21

So enjoyable

I loved this. The main character is highly likeable and you get Vermeer and Van Leeuwenhoek along for the ride. A plea to the publisher though, if you want the book to succeed, get it a decent cover! The current one is so bad I nearly passed it by.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-22-21

an interesting start to a series

I like nothing better than finding a new mystery series. This interesting whodunnit links fictionally to historical figures of the day. The first person narrative adds a coherence to the novel. I enjoyed the lightness of style.
The narration is mostly excellent but has some distracting moments with exaggerated character portrayal plus some strange reading emphasis towards the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah J
  • Sarah J
  • 06-25-21

Fabulous listen

A really good listen akin to the Cadfael type genre of detectives. Loved the characters and plot twists along the way

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DEREK
  • DEREK
  • 05-31-21

Excellent start to this series.

Very good and interesting introduction to this series , interwoven with historical characters. Looking forward to second book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gav
  • gav
  • 08-10-22

Humour mystery history and perfect narration

I have read the Master Mercurious books and to now have them read is a treat.Alex Wyndham perfectly captures the sardonic wit of the main character and Mr Bracks writing continues to be brilliant and historically deft
For fans of Andrew Taylor, Leon Garfield and the like with just a dash more humour