• Death on Clevedon Beach

  • A Sukey Reynolds Mystery, Book 10
  • By: Betty Rowlands
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 7 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (64 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A seaside town, scrumptious ice cream, and...mysterious murder?

Sukey Reynolds is back from a holiday, feeling happy and relaxed. She and a friend have been touring the French coast, enjoying the wine and cheese and soaking up the sun in Brittany. She has barely unpacked her bags when she is sent back to the seaside but, this time, not for fun.

Sukey arrives at the charming coastal town of Clevedon, where a woman’s body has been washed up on the sandy beach. Her identity is a mystery, but Sukey is determined to find out how she ended up there and who exactly she is.

The police are at their wits’ end, and with no leads or suspects, Sukey decides to leaf through old cases. She is shocked to realize that this woman is not the first to turn up on the shore and even finds a link between the cold cases: Several of the murder suspects had the same decorative tattoo inked on their skin. After further investigating, she realizes the distinctive symbol means "death".

Her superiors scoff at her theory, so it’s up to Sukey to prove them wrong and find the devious killer herself. From tattoo parlors to the music halls, she has no shortage of places to investigate. But can she uncover the true culprit and the identity of the mystery woman before they strike again?

An absolutely gripping murder mystery from the queen of cozy crime, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, P.D. James, or Faith Martin. This book was previously published as A Fool There Was.

©2009, 2019 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death on Clevedon Beach

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fun listen

The first part of the book Sukey and team like amateurs not professional police- their ideas, theories and ways were not the way Sukey was in the other wonderful books-
But the last half of the book was quite good and rolled like you’d expect a murder investigation to go.
Enjoy!
The reading by Kennard is excellent

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Walmsley
  • Diane Walmsley
  • 09-25-19

SUPERB

lots of twists and turns to the plot, a new love interest for Sukey, cant wait for her next adventure