1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an "intimate and cinematic" thriller* about an ex-marine, an ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state.

Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the devastating memories of her time in Afghanistan.

After 15 years - nearly half his life - in state prison, Mason Burke owns one set of clothes, a wallet, and a photo of Lucy, the service dog he trained while behind bars. Seeking a fresh start, he sets out for Deception Cove, Washington, where the dog now lives.

As soon as Mason knocks on Jess' door, he finds himself in the middle of a standoff between the widow and the deputy county sheriff. When Jess' late husband piloted his final "fishing" expedition, he stole and stashed a valuable package from his drug dealer associates. Now the package is gone, and the sheriff's department has seized Jess' dearest possession - her dog. Unless Jess turns over the missing goods, Lucy will be destroyed.

The last thing Mason wants is to be dragged back into the criminal world. The last thing Jess wants is to trust a stranger. But neither of them can leave a friend, the only good thing in either of their lives, in danger. To rescue Lucy, they'll have to forge an uneasy alliance. And to avoid becoming collateral damage in someone else's private war, they have to fight back - and find a way to conquer their doubts and fears.

*Alex Segura, author of Blackout and the Pete Fernandez series

©2019 Owen Laukkanen (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"I could write pages singing the praises of Deception Cove's vivid characters and ruthless pace - but here's the short version: Owen Laukkanen sure as hell knows how to tell a story. Read this one, you won't regret it." (Nick Petrie, national best-selling author of The Drifter)

"In Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen gives you everything you could want in a thriller - rich setting, breakneck pacing, thrilling action, a ton of heart, and a great dog. This is a cancel-your-plans-so-you-can-stay-in-to-read book." (Rob Hart, author of The Warehouse)

"Laukkanen has never been better. A crackerjack plot enhances the moving portrayals of the leads' inner lives." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Deception Cove

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    252
  • 4 Stars
    149
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    277
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    223
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

I sincerely hope that Owen Laukkanen is planning to continue with his Stevens and Windermere series. This is his second stand alone since his last in that series.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this new book and didn't want to put it down until I knew how it ended. The publisher's summary gives away probably the first 1/4 of the book. With a dog (Lucy) as the pivotal point , this story takes some very interesting and complex turns. Lucy is being used by corrupt local law to get her owner to find a package her murdered husband stole. The deputy has threatened to destroy Lucy. Her owner is a veteran who suffers from PTSD.
The man who trained Lucy is able to track her down and joins forces with her owner.
This is a very clear good vs evil with three unlikely heroes. Somehow each has the missing piece of what's missing from the other's broken life and it works.
Kevin Stillwell and Courtney Patterson do an excellent job narrating. They work well together.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

53 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story, Weird Narration

I’m glad I didn’t quit this book even though the strange upspeak style of narration annoyed me every step of the way. Since both the narrators did it, I can only assume they were directed.
Storyline kept me interested and the main characters had me rooting for them all the way. And there’s a dog. I’m a sucker for animals pervading the story, yay!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

prefer less cussing. loved the dog being the thread. narrators were very good. thank you

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good read!

Adventurous and mysterious! You fall in love with the characters. Kevin and Courtney do a great job characterizing the protagonist and antagonist. I didn’t like hearing the f bomb so much but the audible is a good “read”!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't put it down; have to read it through.

Had me from the first few lines. The 2 narrators gave the characters life - almost becoming them so seamlessly. And who doesn't love a dog!!! Everything from the storyline, the locale, etc., captured a story that begged listening too non-stop. The adventure must, must continue; I already find myself wanting to be right along to follow Mason, Jess and Lucy so as not to miss anything.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved

I loved this book. characters were well developed ...even the dog. I would read again

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent,

Laukkanen crushes it again. Deception Cove isn’t my favorite book by this author but only because some of his other books are so tremendously good. This one is top tier as well and a great read / listen. I can’t recommend it enough. Grab any of his books and dive in and you’ll find yourself quickly wanting to read them all. Enjoy!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I found this novel to be very engaging. All characters came to life and were very noteworthy. Lucy, the dog, was fun and endearing. The coastal setting of northern Washington was soothing. It was relating the way the main characters dealt with real-life issues. Both narrators were great and worked well together.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional thriller

action packed and characters were interesting with realistic dialogue and traits. love this author and will buy more by him

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen, like narration

easy to follow story while multitasking, good flow with narration. I recommend it to others

2 people found this helpful