• Desert Devil

  • Sand and Shadows, Book 2
  • By: Colleen Helme
  • Narrated by: Stevi Incremona
  • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (29 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A fragile beginning, a past that won’t let go, and a deadly enemy. 

Hoping for a bright future with the man she loves, Ella St. John begins her new life, only to find that a deadly enemy from her past is intent on getting his way. Drawn into a fight that isn’t hers, Ella must do whatever it takes to protect those she loves, even if it means going against everything she believes in.

From the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventures comes book two in a new series full of mystery, romance, and supernatural powers that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Don't miss it!

Perfect for fans of Amanda Lee, Shannon Mayer, Annabel Chase, Elizabeth Hunter, and Ilona Andrews.

©2022 Colleen Helme (P)2022 Colleen Helme

What listeners say about Desert Devil

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

I enjoyed this book so very much. I’m so glad it was available on audible as I have macular degeneration and can’t see well enough to read. I couldn’t put this book down it was that good!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Book 2 Even Better than Book 1

I really enjoyed Sand and Shadows Book 2. The action started right away and there were several interesting twists. Like in the first book, there was a Shelby crossover, and I have a feeling the next Shelby Nichols book will have an Ella crossover. I look forward to reading the next books of both series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!

Can't wait for book 3! Love the Shelby crossover! So many things get explained!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great narrators for a great book

Colleen Helme's spin off series about Ella's St.John is off and running and Shelby has made appearances in book 1 and 2 which has been awesome . The narrator is good for this series and easy on the ears. great book whether reading or listening to. highly recommend all of Helme books. Can't wait to continue with Ella's journey. looking forward to next in series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill Kirtley
  • Jill Kirtley
  • 07-31-22

I loved it!

Desert Devil: Sand And Shadows #2 is filled to the brim with secrets, danger, and exciting twists! I love the fantastic turn the storyline took, and I’m absolutely attracted to the devilishly delicious bad guy.
Great narrator too!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for locky8
  • locky8
  • 07-28-22

Loved it!

In this book Ella finds out more about her healing powers and settles into married life with Creed. But nothing in Ella's life is straight forward as she finds it hard to juggle work, keep her secret and a court case involving Sonny who just might get them all killed. A fab story, wonderfully narrated..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 06-18-22

Awesome

Oh wow!!! I just loved this book. Colleen has always managed to entertaining and thrill her audience with her Shelby Nichols series (which is so worth reading or listening too) but Ella St. John has just taken her writing and imagination to a while other level. This is book two and all though you don't need to have read or listened to the previous book, I think as it deals with the aftermath or consequence of that book then you probably should and let's face it is just as good and sets up the characters and background in more detail. I love that Shelby, although only a very small part, does play a roll in the telling of this story. I must admit even with her warning I Never saw the twist coming. I really like the cast of characters and spent a good portion of the book wondering which star would play the character when it came to the big screen. Don't get me wrong I wasn't board and too much was going on for my mind to wander, it just that it has an unusual and captivating storyline it's sure to be a blockbuster. I can't wait to see what comes next in the series for them.
Ella might have married the man of her dreams, Creed, but with there quick wedding, they cheated his family out of the big wedding they had always planned and with his sister, Avery, set to testify against a gangster, it seems right to celebrate again. The wedding goes well but the honeymoon is put on hold when they learn a contract has been put out on Avery and the trial has been brought forward. Then Avery gets kidnapped and Ella and Creed are the only ones who can keep her alive. In Ella's case literally, as a nurse her special talent has gotten her noticed by the wrong people. So in order to get Avery back she has to not only put a friend in danger but also use her special gift and go against everything she has ever believed. Can Ella and Creed find a way to get his sister back without owing the wrong people?
I liked the narrator. She really uses her voice well to go bring not only the characters but the story to life. Two very talented ladies, well four in you count Ella and Shelby and there is no way they should be missed.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.