• Don't Cry for Me

  • A Novel
  • By: Daniel Black
  • Narrated by: Daniel Black
  • Length: 7 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (267 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.09

Buy for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Named a Most Anticipated Book in Essence Magazine, The Millions, and Bookish 

"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song." (Jesmyn Ward)

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr., and Alice Walker

As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob's role as a father and his reaction to Isaac's being gay.

But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace. 

With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is engaging, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.

©2022 Daniel Black (P)2022 Harlequin Enterprises, Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about Don't Cry for Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    205
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth it!

This is an amazing book about parent and child relationships. The relationships that mold, hurt, nurture for a lifetime and across generational lines. Again, Dr. D. Black is spot on and hits it out of the ballpark.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!!!

I think I just randomly selected this book and I’m so glad I did! It was such a great story that resonated and great narration!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This a powerful story wonderfully told. I loved how the father didn’t use his experiences as excuses but rather explanations and I think it’s powerful of the author to realize that and retell it in that way. My father was born in 1933, about a decade before the father in this book. Similarly he had that “old school” frame of thinking (men don’t hug or show signs of affection). He also hit my mother, until one day she had enough and he knew. There were just so many parallels, and the story is wonderfully told. My spirit feels lighter after reading this book. Well done!

My only con is that the reading was done by the writer who is articulate near to a fault. Words that are slang have every letter annunciated and while off-putting at first, the story is so engrossing that you gradually forget how annoying it is. About a third of the way through the book I hardly noticed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly Heart Wrenching and Warming Listen

Loved it. Sending to several of my friends. Can't wait to read other works. Absolutely moving!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazingly raw and real

I end my listening of this book wanting so much more but simultaneously full. This letter touched my very soul.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So powerful

Wow!
What a powerful story. I was held captive by the author’s narrative. I highly recommend it for anyone needing to understand the dynamics within some families grappling with issues of personal identity and self actualization.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

thoughtful reflections on different generations

insightful. well thought out. I enjoyed looking at life from this different angle. I would recommend this to folks looking to reflect about these subjects.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mind Blowing

I wish that I can put into words all that I feel after listening to this book for the last 2 days. I can't, the words are not enough. I just want to publically thank one of my best friends Jocelyn Robinson for sending me this out of sheer obedience. This book is AMAZING! It has changed my life forever! Isaac, I'm sending you all the love, your story is life-changing!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Weird

Not what I expected. The narrator makes a big difference. I understand the narrator is the author. This book would have been so much better with a different narrator. If the narrator doesn't matter to you. The life story of a dying man maybe something you will like.


RECOMMENDATION: MAYBE

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Book

Good book but some parts made me sad 😔 Great story line with truth from our black history

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M.certified
  • M.certified
  • 06-25-22

I could have cried

This is the most heartfelt book I have read in a while. From start to finish it was filled with such transparency. It’s everything and nothing Iike what I expected all at the same time. It was simply amazing. A must read!!