• Don't Know Tough

  • By: Eli Cranor
  • Narrated by: Eli Cranor
  • Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (42 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.49

Buy for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a tiny Arkansas town, high school football is religion, and there will always be people who will go to any lengths to protect their faith - even murder. 

In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his unstable mother’s abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the field, but when his savagery crosses a line, he faces suspension. 

Without Billy Lowe, the Denton Pirates can kiss their playoffs bid good-bye. But the head coach, Trent Powers, who just moved from California with his wife and two children for this job, has more than just his paycheck riding on Billy’s bad behavior. As a born-again Christian, Trent feels a divine calling to save Billy - save him from his circumstances and save his soul. 

Then Billy’s abuser is found murdered in the Lowe family trailer, and all evidence points toward Billy. Now nothing can stop an explosive chain of violence that could tear the whole town apart on the eve of the playoffs. 

Winner of the Peter Lovesey First Crime Novel Contest

©2022 Eli Cranor (P)2022 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Don't Know Tough

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning debut

An outstanding debut novel with tons of heart and voice. Football star Billy and coach Trevor have both endured abusive, traumatic childhoods but violence brings them together in an unpredictable way. Not only was I swept up by the story, but the author narrated it in such a compelling way I can’t believe he doesn’t do this every day. For fans of Friday Night Lights and American Rust.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

One of the absolute best books I have read! Eli’s narration was spot on and made the characters tangible for me. I can’t wait for his next book!

1 person found this helpful