1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Narrator Saskia Maarleveld displays impressive vocal versatility in this gentle fantasy...Maarleveld captures each character and immerses listeners in the gothic setting of the sinister manor. Her intensifying pace and warm tone perfectly express the slow-burn romance that blooms between Wren and Hal as they work together to save their kingdoms." (AudioFile magazine, Earphones Award winner)

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.

Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: She's been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend - the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate, Colwick Hall, to cure his servant from a mysterious illness, she seizes her chance to redeem herself.

The mansion is crumbling, icy winds haunt the caved-in halls, and her eccentric host forbids her from leaving her room after dark. Worse, Wren’s patient isn’t a servant at all but Hal Cavendish, the infamous Reaper of Vesria and her kingdom’s sworn enemy. Hal also came to Colwick Hall for redemption, but the secrets in the estate may lead to both of their deaths.

With sinister forces at work, Wren and Hal realize they’ll have to join together if they have any hope of saving their kingdoms. But as Wren circles closer to the nefarious truth behind Hal’s illness, they realize they have no escape from the monsters within the mansion. All they have is each other, and a startling desire that could be their downfall.

Allison Saft’s Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the chapters long into the night.

Love makes monsters of us all

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books

"A YA fantasy classic in the making." (Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray)

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s 'Grisha Trilogy' and Marie Rutkoski’s 'Winner’s Trilogy' have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance." (School Library Journal)

©2021 Allison Saft (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Complex, carefully rendered, and utterly addictive, Down Comes the Night is a YA fantasy classic in the making. Saft seamlessly blends an utterly original magic system, multifacted main characters, and forbidden romance into a gothic narrative that will stay with you long after the last page." (Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray)

"Down Comes the Night is a twisty dark ride through a gothic world that‘ll keep you up all night. Saft has crafted a deeply romantic tale with fresh magic and mystery on every page, and filled with an arresting cast. An engrossing, haunting, and beautiful addition to the YA shelf." (Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight)

What listeners say about Down Comes the Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book in every way

I can't say enough good things about this book. The pacing was smooth and constant, great focus on softer qualities as strength, details trickled out at well placed times, writing style is on point for me, narration performance was so so enjoyable, and loved the unfolding towards the end.
great work!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Down Comes the Night!!!

I took a chance and used a credit for this audible book. I do not regret it. Narrator did a wonderful job. I was fully engaged from beginning to end. I will definitely purchase future books from this Author. Bravo Allison Saft I'm a new fan.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cheesy and Predictable

The story felt like it wasn’t trying too hard to stray from the common tropes teenagers go for. Broody, mysterious, burdened guy who needs help and a delicate, emotional, selfless chick fall for one another.
I also didn’t like how it was read. Hal is far younger & emotionless than how he is made to sound. Both main characters are given voices that take away from the author’s intentions. Ren sounds so whiny, like she is almost in tears all the time. I felt there was more playfulness and assertion between her conversations. I would often wait to hear the author’s description of the interaction and replay it in my head to feel like I got was what meant to happen. Idk, maybe it’s just me.
Overall, I stuck around but I was over it off jump. Story didn’t feel too creative.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Saskia Maarleveld Makes this Story Come Alive!

Enemies to Lovers is one of my favorite tropes and Allison Saft does it right. Her YA fantasy Down Comes the Night sucked me into an alternate world of conflict and magic so deeply, so completely, it took discipline to set the story down. Her characters are drawn with a deft hand, each with their own imperfections and endearing qualities. At the center is Wren, a healer with unusually strong magical powers. She’s also been gifted with a kind heart and has, as her greatest enemy says, the courage and the strength to do the hardest thing, to be merciful. The themes of mercy and forgiveness, friendship and love, acceptance and belonging, thread throughout the story seamlessly and resolve in a satisfying, if not bittersweet, way. Lovers of fantasy and magic both young and adult will enjoy Down Comes the Night. And the narrator is fantastic

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Debut!

Excited to listen to Saft's next book as this one had me hooked! Really glad I got it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a Great Time

This audio book was such an enjoyment to listen to o,the narrator fills the words with both gravitas and poignancy. Enjoyed it thoroughly through and through. Allison Saft's premier book makes for a adventurous, romantic intro to a hopefully wonderful career. I'll definitely come back to this book for another listen and read. Thank You.

.