• Down Range

  • A Novel (Garrett Kohl)
  • By: Taylor Moore
  • Narrated by: Jeremy Arthur
  • Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (283 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“A riveting thriller with a family in crisis at the core. It's my kind of book.” (Brad Taylor, best-selling author of American Traitor)

In this action-packed debut thriller for fans of C. J. Box and Jack Carr, DEA agent Garrett Kohl fights to protect his home on the Texas High Plains when a vicious criminal enterprise comes after his family.

As a decorated undercover DEA special agent, Garrett Kohl has traveled the world - and fought in most of it - but it’s the High Plains of northwest Texas he calls home and dreams of returning to one day. Kohl is in the middle of an assignment in Afghanistan when his commander orders him back to Texas on a short mission expected to take a week at most. But Kohl is unsettled to discover that he’s moving from one kind of war to another.

The once-peaceful ranching community he loves is under attack by a band of criminals who have infiltrated law enforcement and corrupted local businesses, and are now terrorizing Kohl’s own family. Hoping to prevent bloodshed, Kohl tries to resolve matters peacefully. But when the group strikes first, he has no choice but to go on the attack.

Unfortunately for the crew of criminals, Garrett Kohl, besides being an elite undercover officer for the DEA, is a battle-hardened Green Beret who spent the better part of his career hunting terrorists. Although outnumbered and outgunned, Kohl knows the wild and forsaken Llano Estacado region of Texas better than anyone. And like so many trespassers before them, these murderers will find out the hard way that the only thing tougher than this land is the people who call it home.

©2021 Taylor Moore (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Down Range

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    210
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous story!

New author Taylor Moore hit a home run with his 1st of many hits!

Can’t wait for Moore’s next in his Garrett Kohl series

So well done!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

This was a page turning, fast paced action packed story that kept me guessing until the end. I highly recommend the book and the author.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great start to a series

It’s been a while since I sat in the driveway hooked on the story instead of going inside. The characters are compelling, the Afghanistan and Texas come alive in the text. A really good story. I hope there will be more!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding story!

Down Range is an outstanding story of a covert op making the right decisions instead of always operating by the book. Moore’s masterful storytelling weaves heroic and flawed characters, vivid Texas Panhandle settings, and the horrors of war into a powerful message of family. Wonderful narration packs the story with heart and brings it all to life.
Highly recommend this book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

MEH!

To suggest that this debut novel is anything approaching CJ BOX's writing is absurd. The story doesn't even make sense: a DEA special agent is in Afghanistan working with the CIA and saves a young Afghani boy, but the agent is forced by his DEA boss to take the boy back to the States to hide the boy; the boy should be taken to an appropriate safe house but the Agent decides to take the boy to his father's run-down ranch in Texas, only to encounter a vicious criminal enterprise who wishes them all harm. But the bad guys don't know that the agent is a former Green Beret (but of course he is). Character development is below average, and the lead character is totally over the top and totally not believable. The narrator was also annoying. Skip this one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A balanced book you will certainly enjoy!

I found the first word to use in describing this book, is balanced. When something may have fallen a bit (like character development, story, setting, etc.) another point was lifted.
Garret is a great character to follow with his realistic demeanor and unique skill set. I’m curious what comes next to him in the future!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Another politicized "thriller"

Why is every book I try to read nowadays politicized? I read escapist fiction to get away from that. Even established authors such as Michael Connelly now live in fear of being cancelled and have to make it clear their audience knows they are politically correct. Oppositely, you have the conservative values on full display to the degree the story becomes a meaningless vehicle for the author's props. It's awful. Reading great thrillers, sci-fi and mysteries was my most relaxing pleasure and it is now gone for the sake of being politically correct, fear of being cancelled or displaying your conservative certification. I gave up on this "novel" after two hours. While I agree with Taylor Moore's political orientation I still don't want to hear about it. Did Sherlock Holmes or Tarzan belong to a political party? We never knew.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Page-turning thriller - fantastic author!

This book has everything – a little love interest, a complicated and loving family, protagonists with grit and integrity, and a page turning plot! You can vividly imagine the book play out with Moore’s fantastic imagery of Texas and characters. Cannot wait for the next book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ready for Book 2!

Wonderful story by author Taylor Moore! My interests were so peaked that I could not stop listening! Looking forward to the continuation of what I hope to be a long series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Keep an Eye on this New Author

Outstanding first novel. Excellent characters. Strong plot. Ending overdone though. Looking forward to more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AudiobookDevotee
  • AudiobookDevotee
  • 08-09-21

A thoroughly enjoyable read

I really enjoyed this one. The characters were interesting, the plot was suitably engaging and the descriptions were solid. I never found it particularly slow and it was nice to listen to throughout. There was one character "Kim" whose voice I found quite grating but she is only in the story briefly so that isn't a big issue.

I think the box tries to set up a sequel but I don't know if this story lends itself to one. I sort of feel like I've read a full and complete story of these characters' adventures and I'm not sure I'd want that artificially extended. But that's a problem for the future so for now I'll say buy this book!