• Dreadlord Wizard

  • A LitRPG Adventure (Badges of Dorkdom Book 1)
  • By: Theo Hodges
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 11 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (69 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

His first quest is to survive the day. Then, do the same tomorrow....

When Kenny is chosen for InterRealm, a real-life wargame where defenders are portaled in from their homeworld, he is forced to survive in a violent fantasy landscape.

Build a powerful presence in InterRealm, and his homeworld will likely remain safe.

Fail, and the invaders will break through.

If there’s any consolation prize between Kenny getting to be a famous wizard or building a Dread-fortress from the bones of his enemies, it may not be enough to make up for the fact that real live orcs are trying to kill him. To top it all off, the game master in his head couldn’t be any less impressed with his assignment. 

Someone obviously botched their chances when they chose future-college-dropout Kenny. His opportunity to prove everyone wrong starts now....

Don't miss the start of an epic new LitRPG series from debut author Theo Hodges. It's perfect for fans of Sean Oswald, Dakota Krout, and Shirtaloon.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Dreadlord Wizard

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good old school story with LitRPG elements

Very good old school stlye story with LitRPG elements. I'd call it a cut above.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Book

Great writing and a great performance, I can’t wait to get more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Really enjoyed this story. You've got me when there's a Dragonlance reference in the first chapter. Hooked me right in and never let up the whole time. LitRPG isn't my preferred genre, but I liked this one quite a bit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

unique LitRPG adventure

excellent narration. lots of action as we follow an underachiever work his way across a new world filled with dread & adventure

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome!

this is a very good beginning to a very good series! I can't wait to read the next one the narration and the penmanship is on point!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is a fun listen/read

I am not the biggest LITRPG fan, and am only now even beginning to listen to the stats with any interest. I get that the point values relate to ability, Not knowing much about that stuff probably means I have missed some error of a kind with what is or is not being done. Regardless, whether or not the accuracy of the tools/methods used is irrelevant. I enjoyed the story, and am looking forward to hearing the next book. If you are looking for a light listen with enough action to keep you interested and wanting more, then this is a great book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Brace for frustration

Its the type of book where instead of telling someone that if he told the truth they would die and instead just telling them “sorry i didnt tell you” runs rampant.
The author gives information and then forgets that information and exists just to fabricate an issue that wouldnt be there if they had an editor to remind them what they wrote 5 chapters ago.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the better "Bad Guy" Litrpg's out there!

The main character is a "bad guy" not going to spoil anything for you. But he's relatable, and likable so don't let that stop you from listening.

Theo does a great job, as does Peter, at really bringing all the characters to life

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Waste of money

I am not a particular picky reader and I enjoy the most basic of fantasy stories. It is very rare that I find a book that I have to stop half-way through. I have listened to hundreds of books and I have read thousands. This book is near the top of the worst books I’ve ever read in this genre. The main character is both disgusting and cliche. The writer tries to make the main character into an anti-hero, but instead makes him com off as creepy, sexist, and crude. The book is poorly written and somehow manages to hit all the pitfalls of this genre in every scene. In my opinion this book is a waste of time and money.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fear the Dreadlord

It was pretty good. if you like litrpg this will fit well into your reading list. It feels pretty lighthearted with moments of seriousness. I do not regret listening to it and I would enjoy hearing more of the story.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 04-01-22

Great start to the series!

Really enjoyed this book and it’s a great start to the series! Plenty of action throughout and a good storyline that keeps you entertained all the way through!
Enjoyable characters and a good magic system!
Really well narrated with good character voices and pacing!
Definitely hoping to listen to the next in the series too!
This is my honest opinion on a free review copy.