1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-listen for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus.

The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the nearby mountain and brings nightmares to life. Only magicians - who serve as territory wardens - stand between people and their worst dreams. 

Clementine Madigan is ready to take over as the warden of her small town, but when two magicians arrive to challenge her, she is unknowingly drawn into a century-old conflict. She seeks revenge, but as she gets closer to Phelan, one of the handsome young magicians, secrets - as well as romance - begins to rise. 

To fight the realm’s curse, which seems to be haunting her every turn, Clementine must unite with her rival. But will their efforts be enough to save Azenor from the nightmares that lurk around every corner?

©2021 Rebecca Ross (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Dreams Lie Beneath

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Rebecca Ross!

I always enjoy Rebecca Ross books and this one was no exception. She's just such a creative storyteller.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but the best from this author

I was advised on an Instagram page to read Rebecca Ross’ latest book The Enchanted River. I thought we’ll okay and listened to the Audible book. It was awesome. But the sequel is not available yet so I grabbed this book. I quickly latched on to this story as well. The books are not so short that they leave you wanting, but keep you hooked throughout. There is always some sleuthing and adventure and of course the fantasy world she so eloquently writes about. I love these first two I have read and after the review I plant to go back to her first books. If you do not purchase at least one of her books you won’t know what you’re missing. But once you read one, you will be hooked guaranteed. These are great books for adults as well as the young adult category. They are not overly predictable, and her descriptive writing technique far surpasses many authors. Excellent story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring and questionable

I found it hard to finish the book. I really wanted to like it because the concept was definitely there, just the execution had me questioning everything decision the characters made.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

It was alright; it kept my attention and had a lot of interesting ideas. Some character and plot choices felt off, or hard to follow, though. It also ends on a slightly unsettling note. Not bad, just some ominous undertones that made me wonder if it was a series rather than a stand alone story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Shallow Ocean

I don't mind the shallow takes on some of the topics covered. in fact often times it allows the author to visit many different themes and topics which helps paints the worried mind of the main character.

I really love what they've done here despite. the world is truly unique and fun.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for philip
  • philip
  • 02-28-22

Poorly narrated

Struggling to finish this audiobook. I think the monotone narrator really ruins it. Just drones on and reads with little emotion and hardly any change in tone. Hard to tell the characters apart when it's read like that. I might enjoy the book more if I just read it although the story does little to capture your attention and the characters aren't portayed well at all. I like the concept of the story but it could have been written in a better way I think and the terrible narration really ruins the audiobook. Really disappointing