• Duel at Araluen

  • Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,092 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in this new installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

King Duncan and Princess Cassandra are trapped in the south tower of Castle Araluen and under near-constant attack from the Red Fox Clan. Sir Horace and Ranger Commandant Gilan are holed up in an old hill fort, surrounded by the enemy. And Ranger's apprentice Maddie is the only one who can save them all. 

With the help of Hal, Thorn, and the rest of the Heron brotherband, Maddie will have to break her father and his men out of the hill fort, but will they reach Castle Araluen in time? 

International best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: Duel at Araluen. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones!

©2019 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What listeners say about Duel at Araluen

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    952
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    887
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    838
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, but not as great as previous ones

Another good Ranger's Apprentice story and was quite enjoyable. I'm not giving it a five because of a few small things: it was missing a bit of fun of the previous stories (following two groups being constantly sieged is a bit draining), it wasn't stand alone or a new adventure (part 2 which continued a cliff hanger), there was no Will or Halt, and had a limited scope of locales (really, just the castle and the hill fort). However, the inclusion of the Brotherband characters was a plus and Maddy continues to be a great character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another slam dunk

I love this series. I know some people were upset that this was split into two parts and whatever. But haters gonna hate. People always have something to say no matter what you do. I liked how we got to see more of the brotherband. To me it really reinforces the fact that both timelines are concurrent and it connects all the dots.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good but with one flaw

I love this series but one part of my love for the series is the narrator however when they change I like it less

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

As good as ever.

I loved this book, but to be honest it probably could have been condensed and finished in the last book instead of making its own book. Regardless, I came for the narration and the characters more than the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Finish!

I had been disappointed with the division of this story but it had a wonderful conclusion!!! I always enjoy the Ranger’s Apprentice stories both because they are well-written and John Keating is a great narrator. I hope John Flanagan writes many more!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Satisfying End

I love this series and its aging really well. I love the person Maddie is becoming.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

He continues to Entertain

After years of reading these books, it still throws me off to hear the narrator's voice choices for many of the characters. That's a personal problem, however, and i didn't reflect it on my rating. The first and second parts of this particular story weren't his BEST, but he clearly still has his world-building touch. At first, like other listeners, I was a tad annoyed at the extensive conversations between Mad and her horse, however it soon dawned on me that she isn't like other Rangers. She's not shy and quiet, and her mind must not be either, therefore i didn't reflect it on my rating either.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great, 9/10

narrator was amazing as always (he's the best), good story, a little slow at parts, but it was good to see some old friends :D

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ANAZING

As always, John Flanagan does not disappoint. His writing of men and women is so important for young readers to be enjoying. Strong females who are not made better by the men, but alongside them. And vice covers a. This series is just as enjoyable if not more than anything else he’s written. Maddie and Horaces relationship is enough to bring tears to my eyes. Love love love love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just Wow!

I have read all of John flanagan’s books/series from rangers apprentice, brotherband, and now royal ranger. Arguably this is my favorite book out of all of them and that is saying something all of his books are my all time favorites! I love how all three series overlap and your favorite characters from each have a part in this one book. I especially love Maddie’s and Cassandra’s role in this book. Talk about some kick ass ladies, some goals right there!