1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Vikings.  

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.  

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.  

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in AD 869.   

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them....

©2020 Christina Courtenay (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
  • Series: Runes, Book 1
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Echoes of the Runes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vikings and reincarnation

This book was awesome and the narration was great! This is my favorite time period and the book also includes another favorite interest of mine....reincarnation. I thought how everything tied together was really fascinating. From start to finish this one captivated me and will be an all-time favorite.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

weak characters

The concept storyline was good but failed in depth of characters. It rushed to the end for sake of ending rather than natural character progression. Lots of inward groaning and eye rolls on my part. I prefer stories with more character depth.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent historical fiction

Narrator did an excellent job. Her accent and voice are lovely. The story was great with good character development and I loved how the two stories were interwoven. I look forward to reading more books by this author

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable

The story line was predictable with no twists and turns and weak characters. I got bored with it very fast and tried to power through to the end but it just couldn't keep my attention.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an Unpredictable reincarnated love story!

I do not write reviews often! This book has a timeless quality. The main characters are strong and the love so believable. The plot has you at the edge of your seat the whole time and you experience every emotion! Great narrative too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love thisLove this book!

Really enjoyed both the presentation and the story. Have already purchased the next in this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ALH
  • ALH
  • 07-02-20

Cliche

Whilst the storyline was good and I enjoyed listening there were too many cliche Mills and boon type moments. A bit repetitive in the ' she couldn't take her eyes off him but knew it could never happen' moments which for me let it down a bit. But a nice easy listen.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey Watson
  • Tracey Watson
  • 11-25-20

Nice easy story to listen to.

I was only drawn to this audiobook because of the archeological side to it as I’m a bit of a history geek. I found it an inoffensive, easy listen which did keep me interested, however I found the story far too mushy and definitely a Mills n Boon cringeworthy too perfect ending.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyz
  • Lyz
  • 05-16-21

Lovely narrator

I really enjoyed Echoes of the runes, I read it after destiny of the runes as I loved that story and the narrators voice. I do think the story could have described more about the characters and the definately the location of birch wood back in the viking times as at times it was hard to image the surroundings. But apart from that the storyline was good and flowed nicely. Great characters and great ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Caroline J. Curran
  • Caroline J. Curran
  • 02-13-21

Wonderful

Wonderful historical I liked the two parallel stories. lovely voice cant wait to listen to another story

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss sarah D. Lane
  • Miss sarah D. Lane
  • 10-31-21

Nice easy listen

I chose to listen to this smbecause I enjoy dual time stories and Vikings. It was an easy listen and a nice story. But for the corny and predictable love plot it would have had 5 stars. Overall I enjoyed it though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tatiana P
  • Tatiana P
  • 05-08-21

Enticing story and a brilliant narrative

I loved the story and its participants not only because it is a very well written piece, but the narrative is great. I almost saw the events unfurling in my mind thanks to the appropriate intonations and accents.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss E R Hughes
  • Miss E R Hughes
  • 03-23-21

Lovely read

I very much enjoyed this book. I haven’t come across many books based on archeological work or the vikings so it was something a bit different. Maybe slightly predictable at parts

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Su P.
  • Su P.
  • 09-22-20

Spellbinding

Loved everything about this. Storytelling was sensitive, credible and an easy voice to listen to.
The story kept me hooked and I really didn’t want it to end. It’s one of those books that I’ll come back to, probably in print so I can read again. Loved the history, the details of places, scenery and emotions. A wonderful mixture of relationships, that we can all relate to, that made me laugh and cry. It’s a great story from one of my favourite authors.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G. Cumberlidge
  • G. Cumberlidge
  • 08-21-20

Disappointing narration

I really enjoyed the story, lots happening, well written and gripping. The narrator was pretty terrible. Her voices were irritating, she talked too fast and there was no flow between chapters. Several times it became incredibly confusing before I realised that she had switched to a different timeline with barely a breath between them
To be honest I only finished the book out of curiosity. The narrator really spoiled a great listen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SHARON E EVANS
  • SHARON E EVANS
  • 09-05-22

Clichéd but interesting topic

An easy listen but predictable.
It could have had so much more depth with more complicated characters but probably a good story to take away on holiday

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lyn
  • Lyn
  • 05-23-20

Concept ok but a bit under done

I liked the storys premise but end result a bit under whelming. first time of reading this writer. plot didn't sustain the build up. good light read but not stellar.