• Edge of the Grave

  • By: Robert Morrison
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 13 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of The Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year 2021

Shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021 and the HWA Debut Crown 2021

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

©2021 Robbie Morrison (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International

Critic Reviews

"A mesmerizing debut. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off." (Peter James)

"A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city.... Chilling and brutal, but also deeply moving and, most importantly, beautifully written." (Mark Billingham)

"Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read." (Adrian Mckinty, best-selling author of The Chain)

More from the same

What listeners say about Edge of the Grave

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good detective novel

I've been interested in reading about Glasgow, mostly thru crime novels and mostly that take place during very hard times in the past. I love thei Scottish quirky manner of speech, which is very melodic to me at times and lovely just to listen to. It takes me far away to another land, another time, another culture. Angus King is my favorite narrator. Hope to have more of this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

starts off Super our

I'm a fan of the Tartan Noir genre. this started off super dark, even for a fan of the genre. It eased up as the book moves along but it was heavy to start. glad I stuck with it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fantastic Debut

A great listen, excellent story and narrator. Not one for the faint hearted though. I can’t wait for more of Jimmy and Archie.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of this year’s faves

Loved everything about this book (shows I’m reviewing part 1 but I actually did finish both parts). Character development, pacing, surprise plot twists, edge-of-your-seat suspense chasing the killer. I’ve never experienced flashbacks written so deftly. Narrator is superb. This should be a BBC short series. Bravo.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gerard
  • Gerard
  • 09-21-21

Eventually …. I lost the will to live

I’m sure this is just right for some listeners. For me it was a wearying plod leading eventually to despair. Two and a half hours from the end I just felt beaten and bored to exhaustion. One thing that surprised me somewhat was the frequent errors in the text, simple errors relating to the setting of the story in the first decades of the 20th century. I’m surprised the errors made it past the editor. Examples include: a catholic mass conducted in English (should be Latin); references to a ‘national curriculum’, not in Scotland then or since; description of a named building being blackened by air pollution ten years after the construction of the building; references to current forensic techniques not available in 1930’s or for many years later. These are a very few, I’m sure other listeners will find others.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jackie
  • Jackie
  • 03-15-21

Really enjoyable and Authentic

I have totally been absorbed in this book - although set in the 1930’s the problems faced by the police then easily transfer to modern times thus proving nothing is new. The characterisations and the ‘air’ of 1930’s poverty are excellent. A big shoutout to Angus King whose storytelling and narration was excellent

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret S Macleod
  • Margaret S Macleod
  • 03-08-21

First World War

Really loved this book so real and sad .How war is a terrible thing the story was really good couldn’t stop listening to it The Narration was brilliant

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shadow
  • Shadow
  • 12-06-21

Rich characters and story that loses impetus in the end.

This is a super exciting story, based in Glasgow of the 1930s. It surprised me that it attracted so many accolades as it seemed to struggle towards the end, losing sight of the general genre and reverting to pseudo sci-fi or ghost story. Much of the research was sound but there were glaring mistakes too. UK courts do not and never have used gavels; the offering of a hand and the English phrase “ peace be with you” would never have been heard in a catholic service of that era. Better research by the author could have made this more believable. There were points in the story, especially towards the end when the pornography of violence got out of control. There were loose ends left untied, and it seemed very disjointed at the end. Narration was marvellous, well done Angus King.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catriona Smith
  • Catriona Smith
  • 11-20-21

A very engaging read- looking forward to more from Dreghorn.

I really enjoyed the book- often sitting in my car after I’d arrived home to find out what was happening next.
An exciting debut for Inspector Dreghorn- I was disappointed I couldn’t just jump straight into the next book. Here’s hoping I won’t have long to wait.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian
  • Brian
  • 11-12-21

Great Story.

This story is just what I like. Murder and mystery set in history. With some historical Scottish references.
The story centres around the end of the first world war and a couple of decades after into the 1930s. I like the comradeship of the two main police characters. Set in Glasgow, the narrator has the various accents down to a fine art - well done.
Next is to check out what other stories the author has done. well done as well.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Engstrom
  • Helen Engstrom
  • 08-22-21

A brilliant if dark debut novel

The mean streets of 1930s Glasgow were very mean indeed. This brilliant book combines historical detail with a dark and bloody crime story, with the whole drawn together by wonderfully delineated characters, whom it is impossible not to want to know more of. Inspector Dreghorn is the man we want to marry, or be, while his Sergeant, Bonnie Archie McDade is both a legendary fighter, and a loving father and friend. We want the best for them, but this is Dark and Violent Glasgow, and there is a lot of horror for them to get through. No happy endings here either. Despite that, I am eagerly looking forward to Book 2.
Angus King is PERFECT as narrator.