adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

John Birmingham is the master of alternate history adventure - and now he's mastered a new genre with the volcanically fast-paced and wildly inventive Dave Hooper urban fantasy series. The series is anchored by a thrilling high concept: An oil rig opens a rift deep in the ocean that unleashes terrifying monsters into the world. But perhaps its coolest asset is its hero, Dave Hooper, a tough, bleakly funny, down-on-his luck oil rig worker with an unlikely destiny as a monster-slayer and world savior. With a memorable concept and an unforgettable new hero, the Dave Hooper series will satisfy Birmingham's large fanbase and convert a new legion of devoted fans.

©2015 John Birmingham (P)2015 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Emergence

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    226
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wild thrill ride of urban fantasy.

I wasn't sure what to make of this one when I first got it, but it was great! I like John Birmingham's alternative history books, but Urban Fantasy is a whole other ball of wax. Well, this is a home run! The story centers around Dave Hooper, the Safety Manager of an offshore oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. After a booze, drug and hooker filled week off on vacation, he goes back to the rig on the company helicopter hungover and just wishing the day was already over. On the way out to the rig, the call comes in that theres a fire on the rig, a safety guys worst nightmare. When they get to the rig, the workers are scrambling around trying to get off the rig. The reason for this is that the fire isn't really big, but the Demons who are slaughtering people on the rig are. Dave goes looking for the source of the trouble and he finds it: a big demon 7 foot tall demon that kind of looks like an Orc. He grabs one of his coworkers splitting maul, and in a fit of rage, kills the demon, who was drunk on the blood of one of his fellow workers. Dave wakes up in the hospital, on an IV drip. Dave rips out the IV, and long story short, ends up showing he now has super strength, super senses, and an increased healing factor.The Navy Spec ops team that has been tasked with discovering whats going on recruits him on the spot to help them check out the rig. In addition to everything else, Dave has all the knowledge of the Demon he killed, kind of a monsterpedia. They discover that the rig drilled through a dimensional breach, and the demons are escaping to our world, which they were banished from when humans were still wearing animal skins and living in caves. Dave has to help stop the Demon invasion with his trusty splitting maul, which is now charmed sort of like Thor's hammer (can't be picked up by anyone else, unbreakable, has a sort of sentience and energy) Dave faces off with the Demons in New Orleans, and after a heavy duty battle in which Dave finds his limitations, the Demons are stopped, at least for the moment. What happens next? Read book 2, Resistance: Dave vs. The Monsters to find out. Mark Zeisler did a fantastic job of narration. He got all the different voices and accents right, and I felt like I was right there in the middle of the action. I definitely recommend this for fans of Simon R. Green, Jim Butcher and Kevin Hearne.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Turned out pretty good.

There was a point where I almost stopped reading, but I am glad I didn't. Midway thru the book, once it starts focusing on the invasion instead of Dave's past debauchery and Red State angst, The book gets a lot better.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent audio version!

highly recommend. the narrator matched the book perfectly, and the story kicked arse! .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Stuff

Which character – as performed by Mark Zeisler – was your favorite?

DAVE!!!!

Any additional comments?

This is a pretty funny cool story. Best line in a book ever, "Seriously? Well same as before, Im Dave and these are all the F***s I don't really give about who you are" Dave kind of reminds me of Sandman Slim. If you enjoy those stories, chances are you will like this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

I was not sure about this one when I first looked at it.
But after I read about some of the reviews on how much the f word was used I had to check for myself.
Great book!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

Dave is awesome. well kind of an ass but funny as hell and plenty of action.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Horrific Enjoyment

Loved it. A mix of Horror / Sci Fi / Fantasy, Monsters, Military and a reluctant hero. Dave who had been a failure of a Man in everything in his life except his job now finds himself stepping up as the Champion of Man. With his Splitting Maul, some Marines and SEALS he steps up to defend New Orleans Like a Super Hero. (more Hancock or Deadpool than Superman or Thor) Hard to put down so just sit back and enjoy the rude.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastically flawed protagonist

A grest book overall, though it has perhaps a bit too much exposition and set up, but none of that really matters as the titular character, Dave Hooper is such a delightfully flawed and damaged asshole being inside his head is an absolute treat.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good

Over all a great read, fun. The reader is a bit...monotone I suppose is the best way to put it. he does seem to improve as the book moves on.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Marinated in its own pastes and juices!

Meh..I really wanted to like it, but I was turned off by the way we were dumped into the hive mind of the demons. I think I would rather have heard about how they were forced under the capstone to begin with. I was not able to suspend disbelief long enough to enjoy this. I will return it, but I liked it well enough to check out some of the author's other books. Hoping that they are a little more rooted in reality.