1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Emily Eternal  By  cover art

Emily Eternal

By: M. G. Wheaton
Narrated by: Therese Plummer
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Emily, "the best AI character since HAL 9000" (Blake Crouch). She can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind's deepest secrets, but unfortunately, even she can't restart the sun.

Emily is an artificial consciousness designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die five billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

Her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome that may save them all. But not everyone is convinced Emily has the best solution - or the best intentions. Before her theory can be tested, the lab is brutally attacked, and Emily's servers are taken hostage.

Narrowly escaping, Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions - college student Jason and small-town Sheriff Mayra. As the sun's death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. Soon, it becomes clear not just the species is at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

©2019 M. G. Wheaton (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Visionary. The best AI character since HAL 9000." (Blake Crouch, New York Times best-selling author of Dark Matter

"Innovative...a quirky mix of melancholy, irreverence, and romance." (Kirkus Reviews

"No small feat to make a nonhuman character relatable, but Wheaton manages it with aplomb...cleverly written, with sci-fi concepts that are accessible to nonreaders of the genre. Fans of Andy Weir and Blake Crouch will enjoy the wit and action of Emily's story." (Booklist

What listeners say about Emily Eternal

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read!

This was a most unique book. Planet Earth and all its inhabitants are facing certain death from our own Sun as it is in its death throws as our life giving star, our own scientfic creation maybe our only saviour.

Meet Emily, an AC (artificial conscience) created by a top lab on Earth, designed to grow mentally and emotionally as a human, but at an accelerated pace, quickly realizing she maybe humanities only hope at survival, moves to protect all the creators she has grown to love and empathize with.

A story about what it is to be human itself, she grows personally a human might, fails, and gets back up again when all the chips are down to try again.

A suprising book, with very likable characters that keeps you guessing at which direction its going to take you next, with an ending fit for a big budget Sci-Fi film. A 5 out of 5 star read!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This is a teen romance novel, not sci-fi.

This book is a teen romance novel. It is not really a sci-fi book despite being promoted as such. The science in the book is comparable to an X Men movie's science. I wish the publishing was more clear about this.

The book would have gotten a 1 star rating from me but that's not fair to the author who clearly didn't intend to be the next Asimov.

It probably would get a 4 star rating if I was into teen romance novels... decent action and likable characters. A few interesting concepts.

Narrator was enjoyable. Maybe got into character a little too much sometimes but I would definitely prefer too intense vs too bland.

Overall 3 stars. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Meh

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RM
  • 07-03-19

Good, but imperfect

I enjoyed this book - it was a fun read. However, some of the biology and evolutionary science in the book seems pretty implausible and it doesn't explain well how it might have come about, which impaired the ability to immerse myself in the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Started ok, ended with magic technology

Story: Although the initial premise was far fetched I was able to go along with it. But as the book progressed the technology described was increasingly ridiculous. I felt like the first part of the book was going for a serious "feasible" sci-fi vibe. From context clues in the book there was no indication that his is set in the far future. But the further along in the story the more incredible the capabilities of the technology became. Others have pointed out that this is more a romance novel with sci-fi elements. Unfortunately in trying to be both, it fails to be good at either. The romance had a strong feeling of being written the way a man thinks a woman should want romance. Fortunately I got this book as a BOGO so I am not out a credit.

Performance: The narration was decent, although a little to breathy for my preference. Like someone trying to be wistful for the entire book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Emily Eternal

I am surprised how much I liked this book. I may have rated it higher than it deserves because the last few books I have tried have been awful, so going in I did not expect to like it. This was just what I was looking for, sci-fi, interesting, likeable characters, mostly positive with a good ending. Some of the negative reviews mentioned it was just a romance and it was implausible, and I don't disagree with their opinions, but I enjoyed the story despite those drawbacks. I liked this enough to re-read it someday and will check out other books by M.G. Wheaton.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun, quirky, entertaining

Very much enjoyed the book and the narrator.
A bit mystified by the mechanics of an artificial consciousness sleeping with a physical person, but I was willing to ignore this and some other scientific plot holes for the sake of the story ark.
Overall, a great listen. The timing of around 8ish hrs also makes it a story I'll definitely revisit.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not a book; rather a B-rated sci fi movie

This whole book felt visually like a movie, and not really a great one. Quick derivative, not really that interesting. This is the kind of book that is more about a jazzy narrative arc than about exploring deep truths about life. So ya, not really deep, or philosophical, or mind bending at all. Rather a fun story. So ya, a bit meh. Not really what I was looking for. I think it's branded all wrong.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Gets worse the longer you listen.

The story started out ok but just seemed to get worse along the way. The story fell apart and random technology came in the save the day.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining. A wild ride!

Emily narrates the story which has you on the edge of your seat learning about her and the doomed world she faces and journeys through. Her adventure takes you beyond what you might expect. Very upbeat and unpredictable story