• Emperor's Axe

  • By: Alex Gough
  • Narrated by: David Thorpe
  • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Emperor's Axe  By  cover art

Emperor's Axe

By: Alex Gough
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $12.79

Buy for $12.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fate of Rome, and thousands of lives, rests on the shoulders of one man.

After murdering his brother, and taking the position of Emperor for himself, Caracalla orders a brutal purge of the supporters of Geta. Meanwhile, Caracalla’s ally Marcellus is captured by Syrian warriors. They wish to use his son, Avitus, as a puppet emperor to affirm a new Eastern Empire. Caracalla orders Silus to track down and rescue Avitus, rumoured to be Caracalla’s child.

As Rome buckles beneath the weight of internal slaughter and external threat, only Silus stands in the way of death and destruction on an incomparable scale.

A brutal and blood-soaked thriller of Ancient Rome, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and Ben Kane.

-

Alex Gough is an author of historical fiction adventures set in Ancient Rome. The Carbo Chronicles, including "Watchmen of Rome" and "Bandits of Rome" are the culmination of a lot of research into the underclasses of the time.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about Emperor's Axe

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Historical fiction at its best

I’m relatively new to historical fiction. In my opinion, When it’s done well, you have a compelling story woven into actual historical events. What makes Gough’s Emperor series stand out is that he manages to tell a modern story that fits perfectly into the ancient Roman period. He is a talented writer.
One thing about the narration of the first three books. I agree with an earlier reviewer, theres a Monty Python-ish quality to David Thorpe’s narration. It bothered me initially, but after finishing the Emperor’s sword and now the Emperor’s axe, it's growing on me. I think, in some cases, It adds to the humor of the stories.