1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this heart-stopping sequel to the New York Times best-selling Sea of Shadows, which Kirkus Reviews called "a standout", Ashyn and Moria must overcome deadly enemies - not all of them human - as they attempt to help avert a war for the empire. Blending fantasy, romance, danger, and action, Kelley Armstrong sends readers on a thrilling journey through an unforgettable world, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Sisters Moria and Ashyn are the Keeper and Seeker of Edgewood. Or at least they were. Their village is gone. Their friends have betrayed them. And now the emperor has sent them on a mission to rescue the captured children of Edgewood - accompanied by Prince Tyrus and a small band of imperial warriors. But the journey proves more perilous than any of them could have imagined. And with treachery and unrest mounting in the empire, the girls are running out of places to turn.

With all the pulse-pounding action and romance that have made her a number-one New York Times best-selling author, this second book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

©2015 KLA Fricke Inc. (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Empire of Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    134
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Held my attention better than book 1.

I wasn't sure if I liked the first book enough to listen to the second. But the cliffhangers are enough to push me to the next one. Bravo!

Jennifer Ikeda is one of my favorite narrators. She's awesome here too!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolute must read series

The personalities of the characters draw you in and keep you wanting more narrator does an outstanding job of portraying the characters and delivering their stories

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this series!

narrator was fantastic. story fantastic. I screamed out loud a few times because I was so into the story!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Chinese movie

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

The performance was good

Has Empire of Night turned you off from other books in this genre?

This was more reflective the plot elements of a Chinese movie not fantasy or science fiction

Any additional comments?

This book seems like a first effort of a new author who was unsure what to write but who watched a movie like WHITE WITCH or another Chinese movie and the plot becomes the subject of a new book. This title is not what I would expect from Kelley Armstrong. I have read and reread all of her books many times. I had doubts based on the description but i hoped the reviewers would give me insight. No, this plot was so bad it was like finger nails on a chalk board. I fast forwarded through the book but I gave up at about 2 hours from the end. I would never have bought it at Barnes and Nobles because i would have read enough to know how bad it was.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not just a ya book.

I adore this story and want more! More More More! Great imagination! I just want it all to turn out perfect for the seeker and keeper