• Enter a Murderer

  • By: Ngaio Marsh
  • Narrated by: Anton Lesser
  • Length: 3 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $11.18

Buy for $11.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The crime was committed on stage at the Unicorn Theatre, when an unloaded gun fired a very real bullet; the victim was Arthur Surbonadier, an actor clawing his way to stardom using blackmail instead of talent; the suspects included two unwilling girlfriends and several relieved blackmail victims. The stage was set for one of Chief Detective Inspector Alleyn's most baffling cases.

From 'the doyenne of traditional mystery writers' (New York Times) comes classic British crime writing in the vein of Agatha Christie and Margery Allingham.

©1935 Ngaio Marsh (P)2010 Hachette Digital

What listeners say about Enter a Murderer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A quick ending

I liked the narrator. The story was interesting. The ending was a disappointment. I listened to the ending 3 times to catch the part where the killer was exposed. I did like the little romance Alleyn had. This is a first for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great early Alleyn mystery ( #2)

Very good adbridgement . And Aton Lesser is always stellar in his narrations - he's done many. Any Ngaio Marsh book is a good experience and this one is only her second Inspector Alleyn novel. I wouldn't say it's the best of the series, but it is enjoyable. The same plot elements are cleverly reworked by the author in book # 15 with an 'on stage' murder that might be an accident, (but not using a prop gun). Her books as a series are so fun!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring

This story never finds its groove. It reads like a plot summary instead of a plot.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Juanita Fogarty
  • Juanita Fogarty
  • 01-28-17

Optional

Great story and very well brought to life by Anton Lesser. Plenty of twists and drama.