• Erak's Ransom

  • Book Seven
  • By: John Flanagan
  • Narrated by: John Keating
  • Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (1,247 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What does it mean to earn the silver oakleaf? So few men have done so. For Will, a mere boy, that symbol of honor has long felt out of reach. Now, in the wake of Araluen's uneasy truce with the raiding Skandians comes word that the Skandian leader has been captured by a dangerous desert tribe. The Rangers are sent to free him. 

But the desert is like nothing these warriors have seen before. Strangers in a strange land, they are brutalized by sandstorms, beaten by the unrelenting heat, tricked by one tribe that plays by its own rules, and surprisingly befriended by another. Like a desert mirage, nothing is as it seems. Yet one thing is constant: the bravery of the Rangers.

In this red-hot adventure, winner of the Australian Book of the Year Award for Older Children, John Flanagan raises the stakes on the series that has already sold millions of books worldwide.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2007 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What listeners say about Erak's Ransom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,160
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,018
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,001
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well done

ive been listening to the books in the published order. the 2 before this story take place after this one chronologically. still felt every bit of the suspense, and kept reminding myself i know what happens after this

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful book One of my favorite books I have ever listened to

In epic book
There was nothing bad about it
Make sure you listen to the books in order this is book 7

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

cool

cool cool c o o l c o o l cool cool cool cool cool g h k

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

great story Lots of useless over description of everything great narrator other books were faster paced this one was slower

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the series

once started can not stop listening to the story. It is this way for all the books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spectacular Read!

apprenticeships are mostly a thing of the past yet this author pinned the sociology behind it perfect! as well as it's different people portrayed. I love it! I'm loading book 6 now

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book!

This is one of the best written books I’ve ever read.
I do recommend this series to be read in order,
But the story of the rangers is incredible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Erak’s Ransom

I really liked this book as well as all of the Ranger Apprentice books. The characters are very likable and the story line is very good. I start a book of John Flanagan and find it very hard to stop.
McNeil Johnson

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pardon my repetition, but great series

In some series, when venturing into arid cultures, the stereotyping gets a little uncomfortable. Flanagan melds positives and negatives in such an even-handed way, much like he did with the Viking stand-ins. We do get a re-enforcement of Will's homeland as the pacific center, surrounded by problematic but redeemable kingdoms. Fiends are found and justice is served. Bit by bit in the series, female sidekicks getting more chances to show their mettle, but I would wish for more. In paralle with this, Will and Horace are still late-bloomers in their awareness of the ladies.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cool stuff

Read beautifully I really enjoyed the story and the plot overall It was great and it left me on the edge of my seat