• Escape to Willow Cottage

  • Willow Cottage Series
  • By: Bella Osborne
  • Narrated by: Elisabeth Hopper
  • Length: 14 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (61 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $6.39

Buy for $6.39

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A cosy and heartwarming seasonal romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley.

Beth is running away. With her young son, Leo, to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring and safe place for little Leo.

When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for, and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under 30, leaves the two of them at odds, but it's not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage.

Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose....

©2017 Bella Osborne (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"A warm and engaging story with relatable characters who will worm their way into your heart. A great read!" (Talli Roland)
"Loved it! Believable characters, a sweetly told, lovely story...a great read." (Jane Lovering)
"Romance, comedy, and mystery abound in this delightful British novel." ( I Read That Book!)

What listeners say about Escape to Willow Cottage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good but misleading description - features abuse

I enjoyed the writing and tone of the audio book and the lighter moments as I expected I would. The writer writes a good suspenseful story and weaves in several story lines successfully. Additionally, the reader deftly deals with varied voices giving each their own personality. However, potential readers should know that the main character is running away from an abusive boyfriend. Readers should have enough information to make a wise choice for themselves. I didn't have this information and purchased the book and expected it to be like the Audible description. So had some troubling anxiety building up as the story progresses and the abuse hovered over the main charcters ominously. Ironically, while the author doesnt really seriously treat the subject of abuse, the fact that the tone and charcters actions make it seem light and not serious, this underlines the terrifying normality of this kind of abuse. Perhaps the author did this on purpose? To note, the heroine is living in denial all the while the suspense of the abusive boyfriend finding the heroine hangs over the entire second half of the book. If the description had mentioned any of this, I would never have purchased it. I can recommend the writing, characters and humor, but only if readers are informed and are okay with insertimg such a serious topic into an otherwise light and humour filled story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hard at first

I ended up enjoying the storyline very much, it was just hard to get in to at first

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun

I enjoyed it . Enough conflict to keep it interesting but still mostly lighthearted. Worth the listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Escape to Willow Cottage

Escape to Willow Cottage. I found it hard to get into this book however when I did I loved it. Milly Johnson fans should enjoy this. Set in a village you feel part of actually.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Man o Match
  • Man o Match
  • 08-31-17

loved it

This book gave me a really cosy feeling. Will be reading more from the author.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Almy
  • Almy
  • 11-18-17

Lovely book

Really enjoyed this book though it covered so not so nice subjects it was done charmingly. Great narration, hard to put down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A.Lawrence
  • A.Lawrence
  • 09-08-17

thoroughly enjoyed it

this was a great story really good twist towards the end. would highly recommend for a good read

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kath Lewis
  • Kath Lewis
  • 03-28-21

a big escape for me as well

I wasn't bored for an instant, I didn't want to put it down. brilliantly read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonCustomer
  • AmazonCustomer
  • 06-06-18

Loved every second!

I absolutely loved this audiobook! It had a real chick-flick style storyline and made you feel all emotions. The narrator read really well and bought the characters to life. It was also quite a long book which made a nice difference.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 11-10-17

Brilliant

Best book in ages. Great story and superbly read. Can we have more by this author please?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Frankie
  • Frankie
  • 08-15-20

A nice easy listen, very well narrated

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. It isn’t challenging in any way, but it is just a nice story, chick lit but not too much, and beautifully read. The ending is predictable but satisfying, and left me a bit sad that it had finished. Just right for when you don’t want to work hard, but just relax with a good yarn. I would buy another book by this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aliese
  • Aliese
  • 09-25-19

Ok but long

Normally like a nice easy bit of chick lit but this just drifted on and on with very little plot or any character development. Not bad as such and narration was good but repeatedly wondered when it would finish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joshua pippard
  • joshua pippard
  • 02-24-19

Great story

Really enjoy this book , will be looking for more books written by Bella Osborne and looking forward to listening to them

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Old timer
  • Old timer
  • 12-19-18

Escape to willow cottage

Brilliant book. Could not put it down. Was funny, heart wrenching, warm, romantic, thrilling and altogether wonderful.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracey A Zvirblis
  • Tracey A Zvirblis
  • 10-24-20

Wonderful

This is my first introduction to Bella Osborne & I loved it.
The story flowed at a good pace & the twist towards the end was a complete surprise.
The plot was really interesting & the narration pleasant.
This won’t be my last purchase of this authors books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leah Rigby
  • Leah Rigby
  • 10-08-17

Beautiful story, very hard to put down!

Absolutely loved this story! This book was full of very relatable characters and storyline. Not predictable at all.