adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this “fun, page-turner of a novel” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times best-selling author) that’s perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Gilda, a 20-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she’s there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace.

In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace’s old friend. She can’t bear to ignore the kindly old woman who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can’t bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace’s death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence.

With a “kindhearted heroine we all need right now” (Courtney Maum, New York Times best-selling author), Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling and “delightfully weird reminder that we will one day turn to dust and that yes, this is depressing, but it’s also what makes life beautiful” (Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl).

©2021 Emily Austin. All rights reserved (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved

Critic Reviews

"Tremaine's pacing and delivery capture Gilda's mounting anxiety as she spirals out of control, becoming increasingly preoccupied with death and disaster as her life crumbles around her. Tremaine's characterizations bring heart to Gilda's well-meaning co-workers, complex family members, and unique friendships." (AudioFile Magazine)

What listeners say about Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gilda & Eleanor Would be Friends

If you liked “Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine”, this should be your next listen. It is a raw, laugh-out-loud story about mental health and feeling like nothing matters while also feeling like everything matters. Cannot recommend enough.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly Entertaining

I don't remember how I discovered this book. The premise intrigued me. This book is both funny and poignant. I did laugh out loud several times. I admired Gilda's ingenuity in hiding her secrets while feeling sorry that she felt she had to. I hope she has a better life going forward, and I think she will.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gilda says the things we all are thinking

This book touches on it all. The extraordinary of the ordinary such as hearing a loved one laugh. Family denial and pretending not to see what is right in front of them. Gilda deals with depression in such a honest and funny way that was delivered perfectly by the narrator. Gilda is a cool character to take a journey with .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Starts out promising...

This starts off promising and unique and goes downhill with it's circular issues that never get addressed. After a while you just want the main character to get it together and she has no interest in that. Could have been better had the characters been more fleshed out.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quirky Story

Looking for insight into or for understanding individuals experiencing depression ? This story may help. The narrator gave a very good portrayal of the protagonist Gilda. The writer captured Gilda’s inner struggle extremely well. How a depressed individual can have some comprehension of their situation yet is so overwhelmed by her inner self talk that it renders her unable to make better choices. There are some LOL moments and insights about modern society that contribute to depression.. A thought provoking story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly poignant and delightful

I didn’t anticipate enjoying this book as much as I did. It was a refreshingly realistic tale that grabbed me about halfway through and had me enthralled by the delightful ending. I’ve never read anything like this before. I highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Surprised Me

I read this for a book club, it was our first book. I didn't think I would love it as much as I did. I really loved how it ended as well.
The Catholic parts had me laughing out loud, if you are Catholic, you'll know.
I didn't mind that this was kind of heavy and dark but some people in the club seemed to have a difficult time with this. I am a therapist so maybe that is why it was easier. I truly felt for this main character on so many levels. At times, I felt like I could feel the anxiety.
The narrator fit well with the character's personality and current mental state.
Overall, I enjoyed this audible. I laughed, became teary eyed, and was content at the end.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny and sad

I laughed out loud many times at the start of this novel. It got darker and resolved well.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mindfulness Makes for a Boring Read

Really great idea of a story but read thru the mind of a neurotic practicing mindfulness was so redundant! I didn't need to envision her every observation of every situation she found herself in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t stop listening

This book was a breathe of fresh air and a delight to experience. I found myself wishing it were longer. I want to know and experience the furtive of Gilda. What a beautifully written book!