1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Grief, mental illness, and the bonds of family are movingly explored in this extraordinary memoir “suffused with emotional depth and intellectual inquiry” (Rachel Louise Snyder, author of No Visible Bruises) as a writer delves into the tragedy of his mother’s violent death at the hands of his brother who struggled with schizophrenia. Perfect for fans of An Unquiet Mind and The Bright Hour.

Vince Granata remembers standing in front of his suburban home in Connecticut the day his mother and father returned from the hospital with his three new siblings in tow. He had just finished scrawling their names in orange chalk on the driveway: Christopher, Timothy, and Elizabeth.

Twenty-three years later, Vince was a thousand miles away when he received the news that would change his life - Tim, propelled by unchecked schizophrenia, had killed their mother in their childhood home. Devastated by the grief of losing his mother, Vince is also consumed by an act so incomprehensible that it overshadows every happy memory of life growing up in his seemingly idyllic middle-class family.

“In candid, smoothly unspooling prose, Granata reconstructs life and memory from grief, writing a moving testament to the therapy of art, the power of record, and his immutable love for his family.” (Booklist)

©2021 Vincent Granata (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What listeners say about Everything Is Fine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    140
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brutal and Beautiful

I disagree with the author’s uncritical embrace of establishment psychiatry, but I’m giving five stars because this sensitive and powerful memoir deserves to be widely read.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I have ever read

I have read several books by family members of someone suffering with schizophrenia but this book did an excellent job of showing how everyone is effected by this awful disease. This storyof brotherly love, compassion and a genuine desire to understand will stay with me forever.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything will never be fine…

Not a feel good story, rather one with deep insight into mental illness, a family shattered, the depth of a mother’s love and how broken pieces can be gathered and put back together, but never in the same way.
A worthy read, but not an easy one.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So sad but also beautiful

Yes, this was beautiful. The way the author describes his Mom is wonderful. I felt like I got a glimpse of the special woman she was. The family unit before (or after) the tragedy were people you'd want to know I'm sure.
A loving, close-knit family doing the best they could and living day by day with a ticking bomb in their midst.
But oh so sad. Mental illness tore this family to shreds.

Vince wrote a memorable book about his family before and after. I just wanted to hug him page after page.
What an awesome big brother!
I hope they can move on with their lives. They deserve peace.

I loved this book. It was very sad, but very beautiful, and so well written.

Narrator did a good job of conveying the author's compassion and sensitivity.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

loved this book. Vince told his families whole story, good and bad without rambling or telling too much. You can tell he loves his family and wants the whole story out there. I couldn't stop listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

Wow... this memoir. Vince Granata writes a heartfelt and heartbreaking account of his journey through the aftermath of his mother's murder at the hands of his brother who was experiencing an episode of psychosis due to his schizophrenia. Vince's portrayal is about as honest as you can possibly get. He captures so profoundly the sickening account that his mother was so brutally attacked by someone who had loved him and dedicated her life to his. He delves into the experience, the aftermath, the struggle with picking up the pieces. How can you love someone through their disease even if that disease killed your mother? There's just so much, and Granata's voice is one of calmness, exploration, personal accounting and deep love for both his brother and his mother. It's beautifully written.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An educational And interesting story

This is a very sad yet insightful story about mental illness and tragedy. I found it easy to read and looking forward to the next page.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Experience the humanity behind ‘Not Guilty by reason of insanity’

This book describes one man’s journey to reconcile his brother’s mental illness and his evil deed with the person behind the disease. The author lets us into a world of unimaginable horror and introduces us to his family. These are the real people behind the headline. We meet the murderer and feel empathy for his struggle to come to terms with what this disease led him to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A moving memoir of a family’s loss, and the road to healing.

Mr. Granata honors his family with this moving memoir documenting his brother’s struggle with serious mental illness, culminating in the tragic loss of their mother’s life. He also speaks candidly about the limitations of our mental health and legal system in helping the most severely mentally ill in accessing appropriate treatment. It is impossible to hear this story and not feel incredibly moved by the story, compelled to advocate for changes, and deepen our compassion for those suffering from severe mental illness and their loved ones who bear the highest price of untreated disease.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extremely well written

Most informative and human book I’ve come across on mental illness. An important book for all of us to read.