• Everything We Didn't Say

  • A Novel
  • By: Nicole Baart
  • Narrated by: Emily Tremaine
  • Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (469 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of Little Broken Things, a “race-to-the-finish family drama” (People) following a mother who must confront the dark summer that changed her life forever in order to reclaim the daughter she left behind.

Juniper Baker had just graduated from high school and was deep in the throes of a summer romance when Cal and Beth Murphy, a childless couple who lived on a neighboring farm, were brutally murdered. When her younger brother became the prime suspect, June’s world collapsed and everything she loved that summer fell away. She left, promising never to return to tiny Jericho, Iowa. 

Until now. Officially, she’s back in town to help an ill friend manage the local library. But really, she’s returned to repair her relationship with her teenage daughter, who’s been raised by Juniper’s mother and stepfather since birth - and to solve the infamous Murphy murders once and for all. She knows the key to both lies in the darkest secret of that long-ago summer night, one that’s haunted her for nearly 15 years. 

As history begins to repeat itself and a dogged local true crime podcaster starts delving into the murders, the race to the truth puts past and present on a dangerous collision course. Juniper lands back in an all-too-familiar place with the answers to everything finally in her sights, but this time it’s her daughter’s life that hangs in the balance. Will revealing what really happened mean a fresh start? Or will the truth destroy everything Juniper loves for a second time? Baart once again brilliantly weaves mystery into family drama in this expertly-crafted novel for fans of Lisa Jewell and Megan Miranda.

©2021 Nicole Baart. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Everything We Didn't Say

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    122
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    13
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Did not want to stop!

Oh my gosh! This book was amazing, it has a great storyline, a capturing mystery, and the ending is mind-blowing. 10/10 recommend.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Long slow and boring

I don’t know how this book got so many good reviews. The story was slow and just boring. I love mysteries but this was just not good. It’s a waste of a credit for sure.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not Worth It

This was just not worth it for me. The story moves slowly; with hardly any excitement or tension until the ver end, and even then - it leaves the listener wanting. The narrator over enunciated all t and s sounds and did had hardly any differences of inflection with different characters or even sentences so it was a little hard to follow. I really wish I wouldn’t have spent a credit on this story - it was a total snooze fest.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Skip it!

I rarely write reviews but this one deserves a warning label. I read several dozen books a year. Most mysteries. This book was so so disappointing, frustrating even. No redeeming qualities. So many holes in this story. So many characters that deserved worse/better than their ending.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just So So

The story itself is really good. However, the writer went SO overboard with the descriptive adjectives for everything that it became really annoying after a while. The narration never got “comfortable “. She over enunciated every word and and her tone was mostly flat. Still, neither was bad enough to stop listening. It just could have been so much better without all the extra nonsense.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Performance Not Good

The story was pretty good but the slow reading and extreme annunciation was very distracting and annoying.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Perfect murder mystery that I couldn’t put down. Love the midwestern setting in small town Iowa.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well-written, entertaining

I've waited a day to review this so that I give it a fair shake. Everything we Didn't Say was my first read by Nicole Baart. Unfortunately, I 'read' this via audio; therefore, I needed some time to compartmentalize the reading vs. the writing. Suffice to say, I was not a fan of the narrator - Every. Word. Was. Spoken. In. Anger. I nearly gave up and put it on my DNF - ever, shelf; I'm glad I persevered. I liked the book.

While not a fast-moving or mind-bending thriller, Everything We Didn't Say was a well-written, entertaining novel that held my attention. Set in an obscure, sleepy town in Iowa, I could appreciate the know-it-all tone and the ho-humness of the life led there; I, too, grew up in such a town.

The book vacillates between the present (written in third-person) and 14-1/2 years ago (written in first-person; I liked that shift). Juniper Baker's brother is suspected of murdering the Baker's neighbors, June becomes pregnant by an unknown, hands her child over to her mother, and runs away to live her own life (we can all guess who the father is). Finally, all the pieces come together through a very slow burn, and the dangling mini-mysteries are solved; much to my chagrin, happily ever after.

Perhaps it's my age, and maybe it's the experiences I have had, or, likely, I have read too many books with HEAs, but what I wouldn't give for a good, old-fashioned, reality ending of: He's actually the killer, your childhood lover really just used you for sex and wants nothing to do with you or the baby, and the daughter whom you abandoned at birth to your mother, still abhors you. The End.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Couldn’t stop listening!!!! I finished listening in two days. I think we can all identify with these characters in some ways. I like solving the mystery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening

Loved this story! The beginning was a wee bit slow but as the story evolved I became more and more interested. I couldn’t stop it. I played this audio through workouts? while driving and while falling asleep at night. Loved it