adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is a story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It’s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kristina Forest’s I Wanna Be Where You Are will love the juicy secrets and leap-off-the-page sexual tension.

“A hilarious and swoonworthy story.” (Kristina Forest, author of Now That I’ve Found You)

“A fun, emotionally rich romance with a sweet, imperfect character who will win your heart.” (Liara Tamani, author of All the Things We Never Knew)

Quinn keeps lists of everything - from the days she’s ugly cried, to “Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud” and all the boys she’d like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing....

Then an anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn’t know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett - the last known person to have her journal - in a race against time to track down the blackmailer.

Together, they journey through everything Quinn’s been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Epic Reads Recommended Pick at Target

A Kirkus Children's Best Book of 2021

©2021 Joya Goffney (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finally felt seen in a Novel

This is a cute story about a rich little black girl in Texas about to graduate from high school taking place in present time. She was 1 of about 5 black kids at her school and like so many of us who grew up used to being the minority in the room, the novel dives into assimilation and stereotypes in a light-hearted self-discovery kind of way. 20 years after high school, I still remember the comments of what white kids THOUGHT were compliments that were actually huge insults to the entire black community. But as a kid I was too naive to understand. Wish I could have had stories like this to read when I was a kid.

Loved the book so much I had to DM the author and congratulate her 🥰

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice Read

This was more intense than I expected but it was enjoyable to some extent
The story is about Quinn, she is a shy girl who likes to write her secrets on her journal, but then one day her journal goes missing and the last person who had it is Carter, and as if it's not bad enough somebody is blackmailing her into exposing her secrets unless she does everything she refuses to do on her journal .. so she and Carter and a bunch of unexpected friends go on a little adventure to prevent her exposure and in the middle Quinn realizes that sometimes you have to be lost to be found again
there was a lot of talk about race and how the environment sometimes makes you forget who you are .. the romance was cute and I wish if we had more of Arden and Olivia they are really cute

The narrator was nice to hear but there is room for improvement

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Great storyline. It holds your interest up until the last word. Touching all the issues that teens deal with including social media, sex, education, graduation, future college life, good and bad friendships.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Reasons why I liked this book

1. Reminded me of an 80s teen movie…but woke
2. Managed to add in two sweet romances without being gag-me sweet or cringey salty
3. Gave good whodunnit mystery
4. Gave even better friends vibes
5. Effortlessly blends weighty topics into a bright, engaging story.
6. Didn’t get bogged down in angst or hate, because seriously,
7. I adored this!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10/10

This was a great read from start to finish. Joya is an absolute talent. Her writing is emotional, thoughtful, genuine and provoking.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A.M.A.Z.I.NG

Love it. Love it. Love it. 10/10 SO good! Totally could read again! Stunning

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story, Wrong Narrator

What a great storyline! I loved that making lists was her coping mechanism - a very mature at that. I didn’t love the narrator’s voice. It didn’t seem to fit the teenager whose thoughts we were reading. Not a deal breaker but I’d love to hear another voice for “Queen.”

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting

A bit forced at times, but overall it was an interesting little mystery and a fun diversion into school life and interpersonal problems. I'm not a big fan of stuff set in the real world, personally, but for what it was it did it's job fine. The narrator was great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute

This is a very cute story about self-acceptance race love teenage angst learning to let go of others perception about you. I would recommend for young adults and teens. Good quick fun read