adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.17

Buy for $25.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The home was top-notch New Jersey suburban. The living room was Martha Stewart. The basement was Legos...and blood.

For sports agent Myron Bolitar, the disappearance of a man he once competed against was bringing back memories, of the sport he and Greg Downing had both played and the woman they both loved. Now, among the stars, the wanna-bes, the gamblers, and the groupies, Myron is unraveling the strange, violent ride of a sports hero gone wrong, and coming face-to-face with a past he can't relive, and a present he may not survive.

In novels that crackle with wit and suspense, Edgar Award winner Harlan Coben has created one of the most fascinating and complex heroes in suspense fiction - Myron Bolitar - a hotheaded, tenderhearted sports agent who grows more and more engaging and unpredictable with each appearance. 

©1996 Harlan Coben (P)2000 Books on Tape, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“What sets Harlan Coben above the crowd are wit and...an entertaining plot.” (Los Angeles Times Book Review

“Brilliant...perfect for fans of Sue Grafton, Robert B. Parker, and everyone else.” (Nancy Pickard, author of The Scent of Rain and Lightning)

"Fast action, snappy dialogue, an enjoyable read." (Toronto Star)  

What listeners say about Fade Away

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    858
  • 4 Stars
    456
  • 3 Stars
    128
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    819
  • 4 Stars
    250
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    706
  • 4 Stars
    314
  • 3 Stars
    94
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Second Myron Bolitar. NOT MY LAST!

HINT... start with the first in this series and work forward. Yeah, this stands on its own bottom, but it is part of engaging character development. Soooo.... This is a terrific adventure, but do yourself a favor... lookup they Myron Bolitar series and start at the beginning. And when you get to Fade Away... buy it... and enjoy. BTW... Jonathan Maorsz is a treat actors... Uh-huh... Know the grammar problem in that last statement... meant it. Marosz brings the entire cast to life. Keeps 'em all straight... So I could. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

I love ME

Coben's use of the double entendre, albeit a tad over the top, actually works! I find his sense of humor to be just right. Like a lot of recent authors, I found his ending to be a bit rushed; but rate this one as one of his best yet. More Myron!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

"electronic" narration? Slow-paced story

I have enjoyed every Harlan Coben book - except this one. Many times during the listening, it sounded like the narration was "electronic" - i.e., as if changes were made in the narration via a machine. It would be hard to believe that the narrator really spoke that way! Also, his voice is so deep that he is difficult to understand. As for the plot, I found it very slow - the book dragged until the end, and as another reviewer stated, the end was rushed. Slow, slow, slow and then--------fast and finished! This book, while written a number of years ago, has me questioning if I want to try another Harlan Coben.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Excellent story, wooden narration. I wish they would change narrators for this series. Just listened to WIN, by Harlan Coben. Narrator was outstanding, as was the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just getting greater

I like all of Coben’s books that I’ve read, but I believe this was the best one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty bulky

once again, too many people to keep track of. You may want to seriously consider reading or listening to this guy

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Accent

It’s a good story, kept me guessing and I generally like the performance, but Esmerelda’s accent is awful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Myron Still Rocks

So the stories are a little dated at this point (cassette tapes anyone?) The plots are intriguing and the characters are great. Who can get enough of Myron and Win? Not to mention Esperanza and Big Cindy. And Jonathan Marosz is a great narrator. How have they never made any of these books into movies??

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story Faded for me

I truly enjoy the characters the writing the conversations the scenes the attitudes and the setup... what has become a problem in this book and one other, is the ending seems to get way more complex than I find enjoyable trying to explain everything. Because of my first sentence I'm going to go on to the next book and I'm hoping to stay intrigued and entertained 'til the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I can’t get enough!!

I love the Myron Bolitar series! I even listen to the books twice because I laugh so much and then miss some of the story!! All the characters are so entertaining even the secondary ones. Often I will switch to a more serious book but then I have to get back to Myron & Co. Especially during these stressful times he provides light and humor!! Thank you Harlan Coben!!!