adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Hurrying along the dark, snow-covered path, she knows she’s not alone when she hears the light tread of someone behind her. Panic rising in her chest, she picks up the pace. But she doesn’t even have a chance to scream before everything goes black. 

When a beautiful young woman is reported missing from her hotel room on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy David Kane are devastated to discover her pale, lifeless body trapped beneath a frozen lake nearby. It’s Jenna who finds the single pearl earring buried in the frosted grass that gives them their first lead. 

Just as Jenna has the remaining hotel guests safely back in their rooms, the killer strikes again, and another victim is found in one of the hotel’s lakeside cabins. Next to his bloodied body is a second pearl earring. What does it mean, and why is the killer leaving them for Jenna to find? 

Interviewing witnesses, Jenna discovers that both victims were seen arguing with other residents hours before their deaths. Could the murderer be out for revenge, and how many more bodies will follow before they are truly satisfied? 

As a blizzard cuts the hotel off from Black Rock Falls, Jenna and her team are trapped with the killer. Then she receives a terrifying call from a teenage girl who thinks the murderer was in her room as she slept. Can Jenna save her from becoming the next victim? And how many more innocent lives will be taken before the snow thaws? 

Fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot will love this gripping and addictive thriller from USA Today best-selling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to stay up all night! 

©2021 D.K. Hood (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Addictive.... It kept me reading long after I should have been asleep...so riveting I couldn’t put it down.... I was tingling with anticipation as to who was the next to die.... Amazing book. I didn’t want it to end.” (Crazy Canadian Writing)

What listeners say about Fallen Angel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this

I will be so very sad when I reach the end of the series 😢

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't put it down, but burrrrr

Well my hot tea consumption went through the roof as I felt the cold throughout! I loved the idea of a mystery writer convention. There was a LOT of unknown that kept me guessing, and to find the connections to everyone was not what I expected! Fantastic as usual!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend these books.

I came upon these books from DK Hood 2 weeks ago and have finished listening to all 13 with that time. I could not stop listening from the first book all the way through the 13th book. Now I have to wait for the next book in the series to come out and believe me when I say I can not wait. Great stories and love the build up of the lead characters relationship blossoming in each book as well as their relationships with their colleagues, who have become family to both of them.
I hope the next book come out really soon.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst Narrator I’ve EVER Heard

This story is loaded with potential.
I was so excited for this creepy location and the haunted/icy/stranded on the mountain setup.
However, by literally sentence 3 I was like, “wait is this a joke?”
The overacting and ridiculous histrionics made me do a whole body cringe.
I was still hopeful though.
I thought that since the opening is a violent/dramatic segment that perhaps the insane theatrics were simply because of that fact.
Wrong.
The male voices are so bad, so silly, I actually felt insulted that someone listened to this performance and thought “yes, let this be the final edit…”
It’s horrible. I repeat, it is HORRIBLE.
I have never in my life (and I have almost 600 titles behind me) found it necessary to write the word “horrible” in any review.
This is the most awful performance I’ve ever heard.
What’s especially sad about this is that the story itself oozes intrigue and I’ll get to enjoy none of it because I refuse to listen to this overacting, melodramatic, nonsense.
This narrator needs to dial it back many notches.
Just settle it down, oh my gosh.
I just can’t.
Therefore I can’t give an honest review of the actual book, all that I can say is that the performance destroyed my very high hopes for this novel.
Super sad.
Save your money.
Do not buy this as an audiobook.
Perhaps it would be great as a kindle read or an iTunes read or even in hard copy.
This performer has no business in this business until a coach works with her cadence, enunciation, and controlling the emotional pitch.
This was absolutely terrible.
First time a narrator actually stopped me dead in my tracks and prevented me from reading a book.
Ever!
Just No, No, NO.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • AR
  • 01-01-22

So thankful for 2X speed

The constant reminder of Kane being the best thing since sliced bread due to his training is getting old. There's no need to remind the listener of the same previous details in every other book. The narrator makes most characters sound whinny even when listening at a faster speed. This book could have easily been 3 hours since the killer was pointed out within the first 2 hours. This series is getting repetitive.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

can't listen to this narrator

I don't know if this book is good or not because narrator is awful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

could have been better

Parts I think we're a little far-fetched when a certain person kept saying they wouldn't be alone and yet they would constantly go and be alone a little ridiculous other than that the book was good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Too good to put down...

I screamed in frustration when the novel ended. Now I will have to wait to follow the romance of Kane and Jenna. I've been waiting for something to happen from the very first novel and now I'm still waiting. Great book! Awesome storyline! Salivating over what is to come.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Read!!

Loved this book so much already anticipating the next one. I loved that Wolfs girls played so much into the story, and all the twists and turns that only DK can provide

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A ‘real life’ true crime

Jenna and team investigate the death of a publisher at an true-crime author’s convention. What was first thought to be suicide turns out to be murder. With the convention attendees believing that it’s a game, things are more complicated. Doesn’t help that they’re all trapped at the resort in a blizzard! Bodies begin to pile up…and one of their own becomes a target! Things are a bit more interesting when Jenna and Kane’s personal relationship becomes strained. Overall a great story!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 11-24-21

Ordinary

Very poorly written. The narration also disappointing. The whole story really bad. I wouldn’t recommend this.