• Fallen Angel

  • An Absolutely Addictive Crime Thriller with a Nail-Biting Twist (Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 13)
  • By: D.K. Hood
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 9 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (195 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Hurrying along the dark, snow-covered path, she knows she’s not alone when she hears the light tread of someone behind her. Panic rising in her chest, she picks up the pace. But she doesn’t even have a chance to scream before everything goes black. 

When a beautiful young woman is reported missing from her hotel room on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy David Kane are devastated to discover her pale, lifeless body trapped beneath a frozen lake nearby. It’s Jenna who finds the single pearl earring buried in the frosted grass that gives them their first lead. 

Just as Jenna has the remaining hotel guests safely back in their rooms, the killer strikes again, and another victim is found in one of the hotel’s lakeside cabins. Next to his bloodied body is a second pearl earring. What does it mean, and why is the killer leaving them for Jenna to find? 

Interviewing witnesses, Jenna discovers that both victims were seen arguing with other residents hours before their deaths. Could the murderer be out for revenge, and how many more bodies will follow before they are truly satisfied? 

As a blizzard cuts the hotel off from Black Rock Falls, Jenna and her team are trapped with the killer. Then she receives a terrifying call from a teenage girl who thinks the murderer was in her room as she slept. Can Jenna save her from becoming the next victim? And how many more innocent lives will be taken before the snow thaws? 

Fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot will love this gripping and addictive thriller from USA Today best-selling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to stay up all night! 

©2021 D.K. Hood (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Addictive.... It kept me reading long after I should have been asleep...so riveting I couldn’t put it down.... I was tingling with anticipation as to who was the next to die.... Amazing book. I didn’t want it to end.” (Crazy Canadian Writing)

What listeners say about Fallen Angel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    131
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this

I will be so very sad when I reach the end of the series 😢

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst Narrator I’ve EVER Heard

This story is loaded with potential.
I was so excited for this creepy location and the haunted/icy/stranded on the mountain setup.
However, by literally sentence 3 I was like, “wait is this a joke?”
The overacting and ridiculous histrionics made me do a whole body cringe.
I was still hopeful though.
I thought that since the opening is a violent/dramatic segment that perhaps the insane theatrics were simply because of that fact.
Wrong.
The male voices are so bad, so silly, I actually felt insulted that someone listened to this performance and thought “yes, let this be the final edit…”
It’s horrible. I repeat, it is HORRIBLE.
I have never in my life (and I have almost 600 titles behind me) found it necessary to write the word “horrible” in any review.
This is the most awful performance I’ve ever heard.
What’s especially sad about this is that the story itself oozes intrigue and I’ll get to enjoy none of it because I refuse to listen to this overacting, melodramatic, nonsense.
This narrator needs to dial it back many notches.
Just settle it down, oh my gosh.
I just can’t.
Therefore I can’t give an honest review of the actual book, all that I can say is that the performance destroyed my very high hopes for this novel.
Super sad.
Save your money.
Do not buy this as an audiobook.
Perhaps it would be great as a kindle read or an iTunes read or even in hard copy.
This performer has no business in this business until a coach works with her cadence, enunciation, and controlling the emotional pitch.
This was absolutely terrible.
First time a narrator actually stopped me dead in my tracks and prevented me from reading a book.
Ever!
Just No, No, NO.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

can't listen to this narrator

I don't know if this book is good or not because narrator is awful

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bad narration

The theme is overall creative. Author has overall very original storyline.
Dave is over-rated and almost unrelatable. Too perfect.
Jo is supposed to be impressive, but she isn't. Overall, characters are hard to relate too.

The narrator makes all the female characters sound ditzy and brainless. While all the men are chivalrous heros. Really? Boring.

Probably better to read the next one, as I like the themes, but can skip the repetitive background descriptions and not have to suffer through listening to the narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story but was ruined by horrible narrator!

struggled to finish because of narrator. really struggled. if she narrates next book, I won't purchase it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't put it down, but burrrrr

Well my hot tea consumption went through the roof as I felt the cold throughout! I loved the idea of a mystery writer convention. There was a LOT of unknown that kept me guessing, and to find the connections to everyone was not what I expected! Fantastic as usual!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I like the story line of the book but the narrator is really hard to listen to. It has been so hard to continue listening because of her!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Like the story, hate the narrator

I enjoyed the story. I would love to listen to more books but I don’t think I can handle listening to that narrator again.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book will not finish downloading

I’ve returned and bought this book twice and it will not finish downloading for some reason. It’s very frustrating☹️

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I wish they could change the narrator

I’ve read up to book 14 of this series. Still still Patricia Rodriquez. She has one voice for every character, man, woman, child. That voice is so unnecessarily dramatic for every scene and quite annoying. I like the series so I continue listening. After 14 books that probably won’t change. She must be really cheap as a performer.

I’ve checked out other authors she’s narrated. The reviews of Patricia Rodriguez are all the same: can’t listen to this narrator, overly dramatic, screechy. How does she continue to get jobs?

I do wonder why anybody ever moves to Black Rock Falls, tho. That town attracts every serial killer, the more brutal and sadistic the faster they come.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela
  • Angela
  • 07-03-22

fab

fabulous as always, can't wait fir next book. the suspense keeps the reader hooked from start to finish

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 11-24-21

Ordinary

Very poorly written. The narration also disappointing. The whole story really bad. I wouldn’t recommend this.