• Fire Trap

  • Arcturus Academy, Book 2
  • By: A.L. Knorr
  • Narrated by: Marni Penning
  • Length: 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (30 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In love with one twin, bonded by fire to the other. Welcome back to Arcturus Academy. 

I survived my first semester, but it's not getting easier. I adore Gage, so why do I share a mage-bond with Ryan, a bully who keeps trying to blackmail me and might get both of us killed? He's like a hydra. Whenever I diffuse one plot, another springs up in its place. How long can this go on before he gets what he wants?

Fire Trap is the second book in the Arcturus Academy young adult fantasy series. Listen to talented voice artist Marni Penning read Fire Trap and let the sparks fly!

Arcturus Academy is an action-adventure series of five books by a USA Today and Amazon best-selling author. Saxony is a strong female heroine swept into a world of dizzying plot twists, sweet romance, and intriguing mythology, all woven against a backdrop of elemental magic. Perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Maria V. Snyder, and Shannon Mayer. If you like magical power plays, pause-resisting action, and the high of first love, then you’ll adore A.L. Knorr’s explosive series.

©2019 Intellectually Promiscuous Press (P)2021 Intellectually Promiscuous Press

What listeners say about Fire Trap

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very great series

This is a fantastic academy story that has suspense and student angst and just some wonderful characters that are amazing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

REALLY GREAT STORY, COULD'NT STOP LISTENING.

THIS STORY IS WELL WRITTEN AND IS EASY TO FOLLOW.
INTRIGUING STORY OF THE VILLIAN BLACK MAILING THE HEROINE LOOSING TO HER HONESTY. YET THE CONIVING FIEN SETS IN MOTION A SINISTER PLOT THAT WILL LEAVE HIM BURNED AND EVERYONE WONDERING WHAT WILL COME OF IT ...

ACCEPTABLE FOR PRE- TEEN LISTENERS.

NARRATOR IS GREAT AND WAS EASY TO FOLLOW.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great second in a series

Great continuation of the series. Ryan makes a perfectly despicable antagonist. I have wanted to slap Gage several times as he keeps believing only good about his brother. Saxony's character development is fantastic.

The narrator is not my favorite. There were some vocal choices that annoyed me but didn't make it unlistenable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great one in the series

Amazing writing and characters, the story flows so easily. I can’t wait to listen to the third installment. It always amazes me how old aqua dances are being introduced in the new stories, great suspense!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

HEART OF FIRE TRAPS.

AMAZING! EDGE OF YOUR SEAT ENTERTAINMEMT! MARN9 PENNING IS AN AMAZING NARRATOR AND I CANNOT WAIT TO LISTEN TO MORE OF THE SERIES!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love listening to this book

I absolutely loved listening to this series. Hearing it makes it come alive. Saxony handled Ryan superbly. It brought back teenager issues and how Saxony handles them. There are plenty of plot twists that Abby is known for. I can’t wait for the 3rd book. Marni penning does an outstanding job narrating. I highly recommend this series

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this series

The entire elemental series is fantastic and Saxonys branch is my fav. she's continuing to grow and her story is great. narration is spot on for her!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great second instalment!

I do really love this world building YA series.
I feel like the main 'bad guy' is more going to be morally gray rather than outright evil moving forward.

Twists and turns all through this gave me the feeling of being kept off balance which in a fantasy novel is what i like to be.

I enjoy the fmc but im not 100% on the current love interest so we shall see what happens there.
All in all a good second instalment and the narrator once again did a stella job.

4 star YA fantasy read
mcs share a couple of kisses, this is as far as we get in this novel.

gifted audio - honest review :)
im a happy camper

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome storyline! Can't wait for the next one!

Before listening to it, I had read the ebook and I already knew I loved the universe and plot. In this book we got to see how Saxony has handled the blackmail from her crush's twin brother - and while that sentence sounds cliche now that I read it, the book is far from one. Saxony makes some really unexpected choices. And in the end, the blackmailer is a genius. A psychopath, but a genius nonetheless. The author is incredibly creative and her writing style is awesome - the characters are wonderfully developed and the plot has twists and turns you will NOT see coming. The attention to detail is simply amazing!

I have also fallen in love with the narrator. For years I scoffed at audiobooks because very few lived up to my standard of narration. But with Ms. Penning, everything is spot on. She has the exact rhythm, pitch, speed etc. that I need. And she is wonderful at giving different characters individual voices and conveying emotion through tones, I guess this is true voice acting. In the case of this story in particular, the characters' voices are supposed to change in a certain way after they go through a certain event (won't give spoilers) and she manages to do that just right.

Overall, great book, I definitely recommend the series. Can't wait to listen to the next one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Knockout!

I was on the edge of my seat with the previous book in this series, so reading/listening to this one and finding out how Saxony handled the blackmail especially, was very satisfying! Can’t trick Sax, hah! But…now I can’t wait for the next one!

Also, I really love this narrator, Marni Penning does a fabulous job and she is such a talented voice actor and very easy to listen to and understand.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-21-22

Fire trap

This is a fantastic follow-up to book one! Once again, I found myself at the edge of my seat as I became engrossed in the amazing storyline! There’s so much going on, there’s intrigue, manipulation, suspense, a nonstop ride of thrills and excitement, and the twists and turns I did not see coming! Love the characters, especially Saxony and the twins, and I loved the world this author has created!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tota
  • Tota
  • 05-05-22

Story well written and great narration

Story well written and great narration.

I am voluntarily reviewing a copy I received free from the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for  Leilamartyne80
  • Leilamartyne80
  • 02-16-22

A book worthy of its name!

A.L. Knorr continues her amazing story about Saxony’s time away at boarding school in England. With more ups and downs that I could count we follow Saxony and her struggles to keep Ryan from doing something stupid. It’s a rollercoaster of epic proportions. As always Marni Panning does an brilliant job bring it all to life. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-01-22

Another brilliant book that hasn’t disappointed.

I love saxonys adventures at school.
The twins the twists the tension.

Can’t wait to listen to the next one Marni is a Fantastic story teller.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Williams
  • Jennifer Williams
  • 01-17-22

Brilliant second instalment

As usual the winning team of A.L.Knorr and Marni Penning deliver a fantastic instalment of the Arcturus Academy series. After the events of the last story, Saxony is hoping that her school life will get back to normal, but Ryan has other ideas and will stop at nothing to get her to see him safely through a Burning.
The story is paced really well and there are lots of twists and turns, as we’ve come to expect in Abi’s writing! Marni delivers a brilliant performance, lots of distinguishable voices, expression and emotion felt all the way through her reading. Awesome. Looking forward to hearing Fire Games!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for trufriends
  • trufriends
  • 01-06-22

blackmail

back for another round Ryan ups his game as he find multiply ways to get what he wants which is Saxony helping with the burning. Basil outs the truth about Saxony in attempt to stop Ryan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Mac
  • Sarah Mac
  • 01-01-22

Excellent continu aation

It's a new semester for Saxony and her friends (and enemies) and Ryan continues to blackmail Saxony into performing the burning on him. So she spills all to Basil to thwart Ryan's plans. But he is determined to go through with the burning.

He plots and schemes, but will Saxony fall for it?

Gage, the nice twin and Saxony's beau, can't see Ryan for what he is - a manipulative psycopath, even after he does something terrible to Ryan.

Can't wait to listen to the next book - Marni Penning, as usual, has done an exceptional job of narrating Saxony's story.