1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first daughter is for the Throne.

The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose - to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood - and her world - whole.

©2021 Hannah Whitten (P)2021 Orbit

Featured Article: The Best Fairy Tale Retelling Audiobooks


Fairy tales, mythology, and folklore have provided an endless fount of inspiration and imagination for writers for centuries. So, it’s no surprise that as sensibilities shift and these tales are revisited with a modern lens, creators feel the pull to reinvent, reimagine, and refocus. Here, we’ve gathered the best fairy and folk tale retellings of all time, from both new and best-selling writers alike. What magic will you discover within?

What listeners say about For the Wolf

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    393
  • 4 Stars
    182
  • 3 Stars
    106
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    433
  • 4 Stars
    136
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    336
  • 4 Stars
    161
  • 3 Stars
    101
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Performance makes the book!

For The Wolf is a completely different reframing of a mix of tales- red riding hood, beauty and the beast, snow white, etc.

The story includes fantasy, horror, romance, and a splash of comic relief. I may be getting too old, but I wasn’t sold on the falling for her warden component.

The performance is excellent, despite the reviews blasting Castillo for an accent that is very common in the South West of the US. I think the reviewer who was overly dramatic about Castillo’s lack of hard t’s in words like “written” needs to check their implicit bias. A good portion of the US has this dialect and it is no worse or better than regions where r’s become ah’s.

Castillo doesn’t just give each character a voice, she also reads with the pace and emotion of the story. She cleverly keeps track of the view points even when there is no dialogue. I don’t think I would be as skilled reading on my own in print form, so her voice acting and performance are much appreciated.

I will look for more stories narrated by this voice actor.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t listen

It may sound nitpicky, but I was so distracted by the narrator’s unwillingness to say the letter ‘t’ in words like written or smitten (she says “wri’ en” or ”smi’ en”) I gave up about 5 minutes in. It sounded oddly contrived and just really took me out of the story. I will return it and read the print version.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

lacking substance and depth

Struggled to finish, kept hoping for more than just needing to bleed for sacrifice, there was no build up between the characters, or substance to the story.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story, performed beautifully

Truly enjoyed every minute of this book! Red and Amon are both incredibly compelling and I found myself surprised by plot twists multiple times (a rarity for me.) Castillo’s narration is also excellent! Can’t wait for the sequel and definitely looking up more books narrated by Castillo.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful

this book was so beautifully written. loved the works and the characters. I can't wait for the next book!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I personally was not impressed

I’ve never had such a problem imagining and picturing what was happening in the book. I didn’t not like the voice of the narrator and the way things were described just didn’t do it for me either. The book was such a slow start and it seemed like alot of actions didn’t come with common sense. I don’t think I will continue the series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Imaginative World

Imaginative tale with beautiful world building. However I would have liked to know more of the wolf's motivations/history. And at times the story lagged. Part of this may be due to me not having read a lot of fantasy. But sometimes I felt overwhelmed with trying to keep up with all the characters. Still I wanted to know how the story ended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Falls Flat

The plot of For the Wolf is interesting and I appreciated the fresh take on Red Riding Hood; however, this book should definitely be classified as YA fantasy rather than adult fantasy. The characters are relatively flat but highly emotional, and their behavior falls into many of the classic YA stereotypes that make me avoid the category altogether. The romance that was developed throughout the entirety of the novel felt shallow and unbelievable. All that to say, I did get hooked on the story and listened to the book all the way through. If you can handle some YA angst and drama, the book is a decent listen.

The performance of Inés del Castillo was different from most other audiobooks I’ve listened to: highly dramatized, more like listening to a one-woman play or a movie than a classic audiobook. Be warned that she uses a gruff, low man voice to represent the male characters which is very distracting and, in my opinion, detracts from the story.

Overall, 3 out of 5 stars on all fronts. Not unlistenable, but I would not go out of my way to recommend it to friends.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely new fairy-tale

A wonderful blend of both familiar and new elements, weaving together an altogether new fairytale. Looking forward to the sequel!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

The story has potential. The plot is actually pretty good, but the writing is lacking a lot of world building and character development.

1 person found this helpful